WI[MADE]W: The Vegan Cheater’s “Alfredo Sauce”

Happy WIAW and Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck!

VVLPButton1

WIAWbutton

I am still trying to work through a lot of zucchini and have had some success with my zucchini hash browns, baked zucchini fries and zucchini chips.

sweetpotatohashbrowns

eggplant chips2

Zucchini is so great because it’s a very water-dense vegetable so it makes a great sauce. I had a few ingredients in my fridge that I needed to use up (soΒ I could buy other flavors tehehe) so this makeshift easy recipe was just what I needed. I call it “cheater’s” Alfredo because I actually used a garlic hummus that I had made last week instead of making one specifically for this recipe. However, you may choose to follow the hummus recipe I include when making this, or use one you bought from the store. Each is just as good and no judgments for cheating. I respect that!

Cheater’s Vegan Alfredo Sauce

1/3 raw zucchini

2/3Β c garlic hummus

1/2 block (anout 2/3 c shredded) vegan cheese

Put all ingredients in a food processor and blend to a creamy consistency.

zucchini alfredo sauce

For the garlic hummus:

1 can chickpeas

2 T tahini

1 T minced garlic

1 T lemon juice

1 T garlic salt

1 t parsley (if desired)

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend. You might need to stream in a bit of warm water if the consistency is too thick.

I have used this sauce as a dip for veggies and chips, a sandwich spread and on pasta.

What are your biggest cooking cheats?

8 comments

Leave a Reply

