Carrot-Avocado Dip with Garlic

I am a firm believer that the best foods can be eaten multiple ways. That may be why I love dip, hummus and guacamole. Each has so many uses in my vegan kitchen as a topper for chips, bagels melts, as a meat substitute, over past or in the simplest way, consumed with a spoon at my desk.

This recipe was inspired by Choosing Raw’s Dilly Carrot Avocado Spread. I really love how she has a whole recipe section devoted to “dips, spreads and sauces”. I honestly think the tab should just say “For Ellie’s Eating Pleasure”…but I digress. I did not change too much in the recipe except adding a bit ofΒ  garlic and garlic salt. I think keeping the recipe simple and straight forward lends itself to being a sandwich spread because you don’t need to add much more to the sandwich.

avocadoΒ carrots

The inspiration for this recipe comes from cleaning my fridge and not wanting another avocado to go bad.

fridge1

[This will never be me! I still have never ordered a pizza delivered to my home! Go me! (Ok this might be because I am a cheap-o)]

I go on avocado kicks and love it for like a week and buy my grocery store out of avocados. Then I get sick of them and end up with one that just sits in my fridge. Instead of letting that happen today, I looked for a recipe that incorporates that avocado but changes the flavor a bit and adds a different texture to keep things interesting.

fridge2

I hope you enjoy!

Carrot-Avocado Dip with Roasted Garlic

1-2 mashed avocados

2/3 c carrots

1 T minced garlic

1 t lemon juice

1/2 T dill

1 T garlic salt

In a food processor, combine all the ingredients. Blend on high until all ingredients are incorporated but has a rougher texture than a sauce. Put in mouth. Enjoy the party.

carrot avocado dip

This looks like baby food. Delicious, vegan baby food. Actually I have a few theories [rants] about “baby” and “kid” foods and how they do not exist. Parents should begin feeding “grown-up” meals to children earlier so they begin to like all sorts of foods instead of just peanut butter and jelly and cheese.

What is your staple dish to make that uses up odds and ends in the fridge?

Check this recipe and tons of others over at An Unrefined Vegan’s Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck

VVLPButton1

4 comments

    • I love baby carrots almost more than fruit. The sweetness pairs well with almost any dip. I like roasting them too because the flavor caramelizes to a delicious candy-like experience.

Leave a Reply

