Vegan Cool Ranch “Doritos”

Who remembers [or still loves] Doritos?

doritos

I honestly do not think I have had one in about five years because after learning a lot about nutrition and chemicals, I highly doubt that any food that made the roof of my mouth bleed because of the spice rub was good for me. I also began to love salsa and guacamole so I tend to buy plain chips that are more sturdy to handle all that goodness.

doritos2

After I went vegan, I am aware that Doritos most certainly do not fit in with my cruelty free diet.

doritos3

[the cheese of course]

That does not mean I do not try to find ways to recreate some old childhood favorites. Cool Ranch Doritos take me back to basketball games in high school and how they only had the cheese flavored Doritos left at the concession stand. You had to get there really early to score the small blue fifty cent bag.

I truly enjoy potatoes cooked in the simplest way: oil, salt and pepper. Yesterday I found myself wanting to experiment a bit. Originally I just wanted to make a vegan ranch dressing, but after some search and recipe collaboration, ranch potatoes sounded even better! These potatoes are thicker than chips [cut into wedges] but do distinctly remind me of the cool ranch Dorito flavor.

Good news: my mouth didn’t even bleed!

Cool Ranch Doritos

1 large [or three small] white or red potatoes cut into thin wedges

2 T nutritional yeast

2 T olive oil

1 t paprika

1 t cumin

1/4 t pepper

1 T garlic salt

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine oil, yeast and all spices together in a large bowl. The result should be a sand-like paste texture. Spread the potato wedges out on a baking sheet. Rub the potatoes with the spice mixture. The mixture should adhere to them very well. Place in oven and cook for about 40 minutes.

doritos

These need NO DIPPING SAUCE! That would ruin the wedge.

Have you ever recreated a childhood favorite?

Did Doritos ever make your mouth bleed?

Check out this and other recipes at An Unrefined Vegan Linky Potluck

10 comments

Leave a Reply

