Chickpeas Please!

Chickpeas might be my favorite food. When answering the question of what food I could never live without, I often say hummus…but then there are they days when I simply drain a can of chickpeas, mash an avocado and combine them with some salt and find it satisfies my every need.

chickpeas and noodles

The chickpea is so versatile having a mile nutty and creamy flavor. From the legume family and also referred to as the garbanzo bean, the chickpea originated in the Middle Eats about 7,000 years ago. I didn’t know this, but there are actually three varieties of chickpea: Desi, Bombay and Kombuli, all originating from different parts of the Mid-East. Chickpeas are technically called hummus only when combined with tahini, a ground sesame spread.

chickpeas

chickpeas2

I usually use chickpeas to make savory dishes, spreads and snacks. Today, I wanted to branch out. I was given a container of chickpeas from work (I hate to throw things away and who says no to free chickpeas?!) and already have three containers of hummus n my fridge. I looked into making some type of pasta or grain recipe using chickpeas but I know myself…I like dips and spreads for sandwiches.

 

Dips!

zucky cheezy dip

I decided to go for sweet! I could call this “Cookie Dough Hummus” but that gives a savory connotation that my head does not want to wrap around. This is anything but that. The chickpea assumes the role a peanut butter would play in the dough because of it’s bland, nutty flavor and does not overpower it at all. There is no added sugar as dates are the sweetener (I seriously love them!)

chickpeas2

I mostly eat this with a spoon and top it with nuts or granola. I hope you enjoy!

  • 1 1/2 cups chickpeas or white beans (1 can, drained) (250g after draining)
  • heaping 1/8 tsp salt
  • tiny bit over 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 3 T peanut butter
  • 1 and 1/4 cups pitted dates
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • milk of choice as needed

In a bowl, cover the dates with 1/2 warm cup water. Let sit for twenty minutes. Then add all ingredients (including the dates’ soaking liquid), except chocolate chips, to a food processor (for best results, not a blender) and process until very smooth. Mix in the chocolate chips and serve.

chickpeas

What is your favorite use for the chickpea?

VVLPButton1

This recipe and others can be found at AnUnrefinedVegan’s Link Potluck

8 comments

    • I’ve never tried that because I’ve always hated mayonnaise and have not even tried the vegan version because I have never liked it. Do you recommend it?

  1. Love this!! I’ve been wanting to make a chickpea/cookie dough dip, but was looking for one sweetened with dates. Perfect:)

Leave a Reply

