No-bake Vegan Chocolate Cinnamon Cookies

I have been experimenting lately with using plant based ingredients in my sweet treats instead of flour, sugar and butter. I like my cookies to be five ingredients or less and have a base of beans or nuts over flour. I have nothing against flour at all! I just have an abundance of beans that could go bad any day. I hate to waste things and like cookies so pairing the two is a natural conclusion.

cccookies1

I normally use a nut butter in my cookies to add that creamy texture. Last week I made a batch of cookies using tahini paste instead and they have turned into m favorite! Tahini is made from sesame seeds. I recognize it most often (and this is the reason I bought a jar) in hummus and salad dressings. Sesame seeds are a GREAT source of calcium and add a richness that does notΒ take overΒ the cookie. That means I do not have to overpower the sesame seed taste with extra sweeteners of flavors.

cccookies2

This recipe was the first chocolate version I have made. I wanted a fallish huge running through it so I opted for cinnamon over vanilla as a background flavoring agent. I was torn between the “chips” I wanted to use. Part of me thought chocolate chips, I had gogi berries as well. I settled on walnuts because they also remind me of fall and I did not want a double chocolate cookie (at least today…usually I say the more chocolate the better!)

No-Bake Vegan Chocolate Cinnamon Cookies

1 1/4 cup chickpeas drained and rinsed

1/3-1/2 cup pitted dates

1/2 cup tahini paste

1/4 cup cacao powder

1 T cinnamon

1 T flax seeds (or hemp seeds)

1/3 cup walnuts

Place the chickpeas, dates, tahini, cacao, cinnamonΒ and flax seeds in a food processor. Blend the ingredients for three to five minutes until a dough is formed. Pour into a bowl and mix in the walnuts with a spoon. Separate out into the size portions you desire. Wrap in plastic wrap and place in fridge or freezer. Chill for a couple hours and enjoy!

cccookies4

cccookies3

 

 

This recipe and others can also be found at the Vegan Virtual Linky Potluck

VVLPButton1

Leave a Reply

