TOL: Vegan excuses, cool girls and being extreme

When I have time on my days off just walking from place to place, I have a lot of time to think…out loud. Yesterday was a double exception because I had a long run half of which was iPod-less in addition to commuting on foot to get groceries and see friends.

Let me begin by giving a SHOUT OUT to Amanda over at Running with Spoons for the link-up!

Thinking-Out-Loud2

I recently came across this article from The Feminist Vegan Agitator on the ten types of people who will taunt your veganism. I have certainly come across a good many of these people [some in the form of one person]. My personal favorite is the “yea butters”. In my personal opinion, there are simply too many other good things to eat that are ethical and do not cause unnecessary suffering. If there are those options, why choose something that causes pain? I think in simple terms so there are probably very complicated answers [or attempts at justification] but when I think in these terms, choices seems cut and dry to me.

typesofantivegans

Ten Types of People Who Will Try to Undermine Your Veganism: An Identification Key

Yesterday I was also able to catch up on my podcasts. I really love the culture ones from Slate Magazine. One my podcast radar is the Double X Gabfest who, in discussing the merits of the movie Gone Girl referenced this description of the ‘Cool Girl’:

gone girl1

Men always say that as the defining compliment, don’t they? She’s a cool girl. Being the Cool Girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, loves threesomes and anal sex, and jams hot dogs and hamburgers into her mouth like she’s hosting the world’s biggest culinary gang bang while somehow maintaining a size 2, because Cool Girls are above all hot. Hot and understanding. Cool Girls never get angry; they only smile in a chagrined, loving manner and let their men do whatever they want. Go ahead, shit on me, I don’t mind, I’m the Cool Girl.

gonegirl2

Hearing this description, I am sort of the antithesis of the Cool Girl. I don’t really believe this true girl exists. Unless a woman was forced, I cannot imagine what would tempt any self-respecting woman to fall into this stereotype. I also certainly think if a woman did, she would not be the true version of herself, she would be conforming to the male ideal. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

gonegirl3

Oh and I googled “Cool Girl” and this came up. Yup, we’ve all got time for that!

Being extreme about cutting out coffee…is it a good thing? I have an obsessive extreme nature that I fight against daily. Thinking about my decision to give up all coffee yesterday forced me to contemplate if this was another manifestation of my extreme tendencies. Should I have just cut back? I think I was a little extreme about it. It stems from my desire for perfection and control. Last night I thought about it and decided I will make coffee a weekly treat. I will enjoy a cup on my day off each week and that’s it. I still want to respond better to hunger signals so I don’t plan to drink in at work. I think one cup a week as a treat is still significantly cutting back without getting extreme. I wasn’t going through withdraw or anything, I just want to avoid extreme nature when it is not warranted.

gonegirl4

Here’s a link to some awesome coffee art from around the world.

What is your version of the Cool Girl?

Do you get extreme about things or do you take a more balanced approach?

 

3 comments

  1. I think a cool girl is a woman who knows who she is, rocks it, and doesn’t apologize for it. Confidence is cool, no matter what kind of lifestyle choices you make. And I definitely have a tendency to fall into extreme habits, although I’ve found it gets a lot easier to let them go as I get older… mostly because you just kind of realize how exhausting and ineffective they are.

  2. Extremes are hard to figure out. Sometimes, extreme tendencies work for me. I can really hustle a project along at work because I can throw all my focus behind it. But I find when trying to make changes, I sometimes have to be all or nothing, which is exhausting. Figuring out moderation is probably a long road for me!

Leave a Reply

