Go-Green Carrot Pancakes

Any high school athlete [hopefully] has the memory of at least one pancake breakfast. Whether it was the morning before a big game or as a fundraiser, they were seemingly endless and really fun.

My dad also has an addiction to pancakes. He went on this kick for two years where he always made pancakes for breakfast. That said, when I went to college and moved out on my own…I was pancaked out. I really never wanted them and was fine with that.

pancakes3

The other morning, I smelled someone in the kitchen making pancakes, and had a hankering for some. I had to wait two days because I did not have aΒ morning to myself until yesterday. In Halloween spirit [and because I love adding spinach or kale to everything] these pancakes have a healthy dose of green in addition to the carrot mixed in the batter. The texture was very flurry and had just the right amount of sweet-savory when paired with the almond butter and jelly I spread between the layers.

pancakes

Go-Green Carrot Pancakes

1/2 c flour [I used spelt but am going to try coconut flour next time]

1/4 c almond milk

1 T baking powder

1 t cinnamon

1 t ginger

1 T maple syrup

1/2 c shredded carrots

1 handful kale

In a small bowl, combine the dry ingredients. In a small blender, blend the almond milk with the kale and carrots. Mix in the maple syrup. Combine the wet and dry ingredients until just combines. Oil a medium sized skillet and cook pancakes until brown on both sides [3-5 minutes per side]. I ended up with two rather large pancakes.

pancakes2

These pancakes were a post run breakfast so I wanted some nut butter and jelly to go on them. I did try maple syrup as well on some of it and that was good too.

What is your favorite pancake?

Are you a maple syrup or nut butter fan for topping?

This recipe and TONS of others can be found at the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck!

VVLPButton1

2 comments

  1. I’m more of a nut butter topper. I may have a splash of maple syrup to moisten them up, but almond butter wins as the majority! These look sooo good, I’ve been CRAVING pancakes and waffles.

Leave a Reply

