The Vegan Stoner Cookbook Recipe Test #1: Peanut Stew

I was so fortunate to come across The Vegan Stoner blog a few months back when teaching myself to cook more wholesome, delicious meals. I had made a few recipes from the blog but it largely got put on the waaaaay back burner and remained on my browser favorites list and promptly forgotten.

vegan stoner

Sunday in Barnes and Noble, I was browsing around the cookbook section looking for the Oh She Glows or Choosing Raw cookbook to teach myself something to do with the buckwheat groats I had just impulsively purchased. Low and behold what would I find? The Vegan Stoner Cookbook!

I immediately picked it up and started reading the amazingly easy and fast recipes all of which contained ingredients I already had! I flipped to a page containing a recipe for peanut stew and knew I would be buying this book.

peanut stew

The crispness of fall brings with it a strong desire for comfort foods in the form of a warm soup. I happen to like thick stews and chilis over broth-based soup because I love the stick in your ribs feeling of energy they provide.

Peanut stew satisfied all my bases.

I call this post “recipe test #1” because I would like to make a recipe from the cookbook on each of my days off. The stew lasted me for two meals. In my opinion, a perfect amount. Enough to try it and have it again. The creaminess from the peanut butter combined with the chickpeas and potatoes is something vegans and non-vegans will enjoy on a cold fall evening or as I did, a beautiful sunny lunch.

I know you’ll love “munching” on this stew as much as I did! [No drugs necessary]

peanut stew 3

[Seriously, no drugs]

Peanut Stew

1 medium sized potato

1/2 onion

1/2 c peanut butter

1 can (14.5oz) stewed tomatoes

1/2 can chickpeas

1 t thyme

Chop up the potato into bite sized chunks, wrap in a damp paper towel and microwave till soft. Chop up the onion and sauté it in a pot with some oil. Add the peanut butter, tomatoes and chickpeas and stir till reasonably mixed. Throw in the potatoes and thyme and mix again. Cover and simmer for 20 mins. Serve immediately or the next day.

peanut stew 4

The stew got even more thick the next day, so I added some water to reheat it in the microwave.

peanut stew2

Enjoy munching!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

