The Vegan Stoner Recipe Test #2 [Yakisoba]

Oh hey! Today I turned 23! I did a lot of my birthday “stuff” yesterday. I had the day off, went for a long bike ride, read a lot, went to see a lecture by T. Colin Campbell at Cornell, got burritos with my friend Gennie and watched Psych then ended the night with drinks at our guy friend’s apartment singing karaoke. It was a really relaxing day that I enjoyed.

campbell

Two nights ago I was able to test out another recipe from The Vegan Stone Cookbook: Yakisoba

vegan stoner

I was drawn to this recipe because I had all the ingredients and have an affinity for peanut noodles. This had no peanut quality…but had noodles and soy sauce so I was on board. I cannot say this will be a repeat recipe, but it was fairly good. I really liked the edamame in there and would totally make this again if it was a more sweet-ginger recipe than a spicy-ginger dish. I am not a big fan of sriracha and this had it in it. It was not as over powering as it could have been and just added a bit of spice in the back of the throat.

yakisoba

What I liked most was the time efficiency. Soba noodles take less than three minutes to cook and everything else was just basically thrown together in a pot for ten minutes. If I was short on time, this would be a great go-to Asian dish.

Yakisoba via The Vegan Stoner

2 servings of soba noodles

2 carrots sliced

2 garlic cloves

1/2 cup edamame

2 t sriracha

1 t ginger

1 t sesame seeds

Soy sauce to taste

Cook two servings of soba noodles and set aside. Slice 2 carrots and two garlic cloves. Cook carrots with 1/2 cup edamame and 1/4 c water in a pot till soft. Add garlic and noodles and sriracha. Mix in two spoonfuls of soy sauce [or more if desired] and the teaspoon of ginger. Top with a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

yakisoba2

Munch.

Do you like sriracha?

What are your favorite type of noodles?

Leave a Reply

