The Vegan Stoner Recipe Test #3 [Corn Chowder]

vegan stoner

The first snow of the year happened on my birthday, November 7th. My friend and I had plans to run at 11AM…which also happened to be the brunt of the “snow storm”. It was exhilarating, at times really cold and windy, but altogether fun.

Why am I telling you this? It’s a primer my readers, a primer. What tastes good on cold days? Soup. Specifically thick soup, stew, chili or chowder. I haveΒ a fondness for corn chowder because my mom used to make it during the fall and winter for our family. She did have a delicious recipe, but it had many ingredients that were not exactly vegan [cheese, bacon and butter]. I could have taken her recipe and made it with vegan alternatives, but part of living on my own is creating my own “staple recipes”. This chowder is certainly in the arsenal. And of course, it tasted better the second day!

chowder

Corn Chowder

1 potato

1/2 onion

1 handful spinach

1 cup veggie broth

1 can corn

1 cup soy creamer

1-2T salt

Creole seasoning

Wrap potato in a damp paper towel and microwave till soft [4-5 mins]. Chop the cooked potato, onion and spinach. Heat potato, onion and spinach in a pot with the veggie broth. Mix in soy creamer, cornΒ saltΒ and a sprinkle of Creole seasoning. Lower the heat and stir till thick [about 30 mins].

As always, munch.

Do you have any fall recipes handed down?

What is your own staple recipe?

This recipe and TONS of other vegan goodies can be found on The Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck

VVLPButton1

4 comments

    • Yes it totally would! Maybe add a bit more flour to thicken it up more. But I would use almond milk if I didn’t have the creamer.

Leave a Reply

