Oreo Cheesecake Brownies [OH MY SWEET JESUS!!!]

Look at me go posting twice in one day! I honestly couldn’t wait till tomorrow to post this recipe. I also plan on being busy tomorrow doing all the good Saturday things [like work and hockey…ok like work and pretending to watch hockey while enjoying the cuties sitting next to me]

cheesecake7

First a backstory. When I first went vegan, I was very pro whole foods. I still do think that is a very healthy way to go. There are so many benefits that stem from eating fruits, veggies and beans. Not only from a micronutrient standpoint [vitamins, minerals] but also from a macronutrient standpoint [carbs, proteins, fats]. I believe it is both the most healthy and ethically way to live. I was turned on to veganism by a plant based athlete, Rich Roll. He and his #plantpowder comrades attempt to stick to only whole foods and go as unprocessed as is sustainable. That’s great, but when I began veganism, I thought that was it. I went vegan for the animals. I cannot continue to ignore the wrongs in society by eating the traditional diet. I do not believe being blissfully unaware is a reason for not taking personal action against things that are immoral.

That aside, going vegan for me in the beginning meant fruits, veggies, nuts and whole grains. Fake meats, desserts, nut cheese or soy protein products were not even on my radar. I found vegans like Roll and modelled my diet after them. I was successful and it was great. My favorite meal is still a bowl of chickpeas with avocado.

Plant based however, is not veganism. Plant based is a diet with health as the ultimate outcome. Vegan is a diet with ethical treatment of all beings at the outcome.

Enter the podcast and website Our Hen House. Jasmin and Marianne talk about all the ethical issues surrounding animals and feature vegan chefs creating dishes using both whole foods and processed vegan meat, cheese and treats. Being vegan for the animals means I was not limited to the initial diet I partook. The world is now my vegan oyster!

cheesecake2

Now these brownies are all of what my diet entails. They are vegan [yes, sandwich cookies are vegan], they are delicious and they are ethical. Few[er] animals were harmed in the making of these bars. Quite honestly, I have a category for which they fall…

VEGASMIC!

Oreo Cheesecake Brownies

Crust:

1/2 c cashews or macadamia nuts

1/2 c shredded coconut

2 T coconut oil

2 T Agave

Cheesecake filling:

2 c crushed Oreos (I used Newman’s Os)

8 oz vegan cream cheese at room temp (I used toffuti)

Topping:

1 c chopped Oreo pieces

Directions:

In a food processor, pulse all the crust ingredients until they come together in a sticky consistency.Spray a 4×8 or pie baking dish. Press the crust into the bottom of the pan.

cheesecake1

Place in freezer to firm while you make the filling. After cleaning the processor crush about two sleeves of the Oreos.

cheesecake3

Add the cream cheese to the processor with the cookie crumbs.

cheesecake5

Pulse until a grey cookies ‘n cream ice cream color is achieved. The filling should be homogenous throughout with no large pieces.

cheesecake6

Spread on top of firm crust layer.

cheesecake4

Press topping Oreos onto the cheesecake layer. Place in freezer for a about an hour to firm up. Cut into bars and store in the fridge.

cheesecake8

 

Enjoy the cruelty free goodness!

This recipe and tons of other great ones can be found on the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck!

VVLPButton1

4 comments

Leave a Reply

