The Vegan Stoner Recipe Test #4 [Cream of Mushroom Soup]

Who doesn’t love soup when the temperature drops below freezing? Who doesn’t love soup when your heat doesn’t come on and your windows are so drafty there might be chance of snow inside? Not that those things have ever happened to me…but I still love soup! I especially love it when I can add a grain to it to make it even thicker.

vegan stoner

That’s what I’ve done with this recipe from The Vegan Stoner. I modified it a bit with ingredients I had on hand and then added some grains at the end for a more stick to the ribs feel. I thought it would make enough for two meals…but as I sit here eating the whole pot…it didn’t.

mushsoup1

Cream of Mushroom Soup with Buckwheat

2 handfuls of mushrooms

1-2 stalks of kale [I used a handful of spinach]

1 T vegan butter

2 T soy sauce

1 c soy milk

1/2 c veggie broth

1 T flour

Cumin and Thyme to taste

mushsoup4

Slice mushrooms and kale. Cook mushrooms in a pot with the butter and soy sauce till wilted. Add the soy milk and veggie broth and flour [I substituted the soy milk and veggie broth for soy creamer and a teaspoon of vegan bullion]. Mix in a sprinkle of thyme and cumin and the kale. Cook until heated through and kale is wilted.

mushsoup3

Note, I then added about a cup of already cooked buckwheat groats. Rice or barely would work beautifully too!

mushsoup2

Munch!

Check out the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck for more recipes like this!

Leave a Reply

