TOL: Happy ThanksLiving!

There is so much to be thankful for on this glorious Thanksgiving Day! Even though she’s Canadian and celebrated the day last month, I give thanks first to Spoons and expressing my gratitude Out Loud!

Thinking-Out-Loud2

I am not doing a planned Turkey Trot this morning because Ithaca and all of Upstate NY got hit with some nasty weather yesterday and today which makes driving no fun. I was not up for driving to Rochester (two hours away) to run four miles in the snow with no one I knew. I’ll settle for a nice bike ride while I watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. I pray no one gets in an accident on a day like today.

I am thankful for this guy:

mason

We skyped last night and even though I couldn’t hear him, we had a great conversation. He typed and I spoke. It was kind of amusing because he is a slow typist and I am a very fast talker. Being in China, he was already experiencing Thanksgiving (the day itself as Chinese people do not recognize the day). I need to remember to turn on my Skype more often. I had forgotten about it for two weeks and came back on with a message from him from LAST WEEK asking when we were going to talk again. Oops!

thanksgiving2

I am thankful for new shoes. I read review and listened to a podcast with the founder of the Altra running shoe company. The shoes are vegan and based on how the foot looks naturally. What drew me in was the wideness of the tow box. My feet are an awkward shape so if a shoe is too snug at all, I get calluses and blisters like mad. These shoes are zero drop in addition to being wide. This is something I’ve never intentionally done but am open to. My Brooks Ghosts have extra support and I love them. I do think though that my ankles have gotten a bit weaker because they do not have to work as hard to maintain stability. Maybe these new shoes will improve that aspect of my fitness. Mostly I’m just excited to get new shoes (and on SALE!)

thanksgiving

Oh my calendar! I am so grateful for this baby! It came in handy so much this month reminding me what things I wanted to do, foods I wanted to make, work appointments and birthdays. I think it was most effective in reminding me what food was going bad and what recipes I wanted to try. I forget about that half a can of pumpkin or sautΓ©ed onions until I can smell them…

pumpkin cheesecake

I am grateful for co-workers who appreciate the little things I do. I do not like cooking or baking if it become a chore or stressful. There is something to be said about the taste of a dish improving if the chef added a bit of love to it. You can physically taste the love. I made this pumpkin cheesecake a few days ago for my friend’s girlfriend’s birthday. I experimented a bit and just let ideas flow (from Pinterest to me πŸ˜‰ She was so appreciative and it made me feel great.

Finally, I am thankful for remembering to take each day one at a time. I am letting go and letting God run my life in the direction He wants it. Whether that be classes, another job, volunteering or whatever, I am open to it. He knows my financial woes (I hate spending money I don’t have) and He knows I am willing to wait or put school on hold to pursue other things. I am thankful that I feel at peace with it all.

Favorite running shoe?

Pumpkin cheesecake or no?

What are you thankful for?

 

One comment

  1. The OCD planner in me absolutely adores your calendar ❀ I've seriously been thinking about getting a white board one, because my little notebook just isn't cutting it anymore πŸ˜†

    But Happy Thanksgiving, girl! I hope you're having an amazing one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

