Double Nut Chocolate Pudding

A basic tragedy happened to me the other morning. I had roasted almonds for my co-workers birthday intending to make her a roasted almond butter. I prepped my food processor, plugged it in,Β poured in all the ingredients, turned it on…and nothing happened! The blades remained in a fixed position, the motor remained quiet, the almonds remained whole. After fiddling with the machine for a half hour, I realized this was not getting fixed today. Luckily the nuts taste good on their own, so I simply gave them to her as a snack.

I also almost went out and bought another food processor. That thing has become my favorite kitchen accessory after I realized I didn’t need a Vitamix to be a vegan ($300? Come on!). I held off though (mostly because I had to work) and decided to try it again.

This morning, again I prepped my food processor, plugged it in and DID NOT put any ingredients in it. I turned it on and…

IT CAME ROARING TO LIFE!

Hallelujah! My kitchen has meaning again! I was so excited I decided to whip up this easy recipe for chocolate banana pudding with a little spin of Ellie. Namely, I added nuts and seeds. It’s an easy weeknight dessert that can both be elegant (date night hmm?) or polished off in front of Netflix (Scandal!).

doublenutudding

Double Nut Chocolate Pudding with Sunflower Seeds

2 very ripe bananas cut into chunks

1/2 c shredded coconut

1/4 c cocoa powder

2 T peanut butter

1 T agave syrup

1 t cinnamon

1 t vanilla

1/2 c sunflower seeds or pepitas for topping

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth and creamy. Pour into a refrigerator safe dish and chill for a couple hours. I topped mine with sunflower seeds before I put it in the fridge so they “set up” inside the pudding.

Pour amongst to serving dishes and top with more seeds or almond butter.

Bon Appetite!

What is your favorite dessert?

Do you use bananas as a sweetener?

Leave a Reply

