Green Banana-Carrot Pancakes

Who doesn’t love turning a loved breakfast recipe into a superfood powerhouse of flavor and nutrients? My inspiration for this recipe comes from having extra veggies in my fridge and wanted a nutrient dense pancake that would both fuel my morning run and later day bike ride. The carrots and bananas were given to me at work (I saved them from the garbage!) yet even I know after a week in the fridge things start to turn. The “green” part of the pancakes comes from a beautiful bunch of kale given to me by a coworker. He said he actually dug through the snow to get it for me. What a doll!

greenpancakes2

Green Banana-Carrot Pancakes

1/3 c oats

1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t cinnamon

1 ripe banana

1/3 c milk

1 bunch (about two handfuls) kale

1/2 c shredded carrot

In a blender, combine all the ingredients except the carrots. I found the easiest way to do this is to blend the milk with the bananas, then add the kale in three bunches blending after each addition. Then add the dry ingredients. After all are incorporated, stir in the shredded carrots. Heat your favorite skillet over medium heat. Coat the bottom of the pan with oil (I used coconut) and fry the cakes pressing them down and spreading them out when you pour in the batter. I like bigger pancakes so I made two large ones.

Top with your favorite topping (mine is almond butter and cherry jam) and enjoy!

How do you make breakfast healthy?

Leave a Reply

