Christmas Cookie Swap: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Covered Oreos

I have been anticipating these cookies for a couple weeks now. It all started when I saw a tweet from Huffington Post Food around Thanksgiving. The tweet was simple, it said: “What does Santa want for Christmas this year? Cookies INSIDE of cookies!”

chocoreos4

I was kind of sold. Right then I began thinking about making them for my family’s Christmas dessert.

I went through a cookie phase when I was in high school. A church friend made the BEST chocolate chip cookies ever and I wanted to learn how to make them just like her. I never did do them that well and I turned out to be an average cookie baker, but I learned many things in that phase. Things like using parchment paper, refrigerating the dough, once the edges start to turn brown they are done.

Since that phase, I might have actually baked cookies once. I prefer the no bakes I make in the food processor.

chocoreos2

All of the cookie tipsΒ flew out the window when I made these cookies. I did not have parchment paper nor the time to refrigerate the dough. The cookies themselves were brown, so I could not tell if they were done. I committed a baker’s sin: I relied on the time and touched them with my finger. They seemed done, so I took them out. If I was wrong, they would be doughy…who doesn’t love cookie dough? These are vegan, so there is no chance of salmonella poisoning either. Bliss!

Full disclosure, I totally cheated. I bought a cookie mix and Oreos. I don’t have any shame, they turned out delicious.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Covered Oreos

1 box chocolate chip cookie mix (I used Purely Elizabeth brand)

1/3 c melted coconut oil

1/2 c apple sauce

1 T vanilla

7 Oreos (I now have the rest of the package to enjoy!!)

Pour the cookie mix into a large bowl. Pour in the apple sauce and vanilla and begin to mix. Slowly add the coconut oil until the batter comes together. It should still have form and not be too thin. The box actually calls for a 1/2 cup, but as I was adding, the batter seemed to be getting thin fast, so I stopped after about 1/3 cup. On a cookie sheet (use parchment paper! I forgot…) place an Oreo sized amount. Then place an Oreo on top of said batter. Top with enough to coat the top and sides. The Oreo should be hidden. My cookies were pretty large, that’s ok. Bake the cookies in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. When checking them, pat the top and if it does not stick to your fingers, they are most likely done.

chocoreos3

chocoreos

Enjoy!

What is your favorite Christmas cookie?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

