2 Easy Recipes [OOIAJ and Cheesy Chickpeas]

I am a fan of mixing up flavors. In the past few months, I’ve watched my share of Rachel Ray on Sunday mornings enoughΒ to feel confident to match flavors and try my hand at sweet-salty combos. It was fun for a while, my by the end of December, my palate felt fried. I craved the simple. I wanted plain food. Boiled potatoes, not oven fries. Bread with plain red sauce, not a soup and sandwich. I just wanted things with few ingredients. One of my favorite comfort foods is chickpeas. I love them in everything! Hummus however, even felt too flavorful (right?! WTF?) All I wanted was plain chickpeas, plain rice and cheese. I had this meal for almost a week. My palate felt refreshed and I have begun to mix flavors again, but taking care to not go as crazy as I did in 2014.

The following recipe is the easiest thing you can make. It is satisfying, comforting and simple.

IMG_0124

Cheesy Chickpeas with Quinoa

1 cup quinoa

1 can (15oz) chickpeas

1/4 cup vegan cheese

Make quinoa by a 2:1 ratio. Boil 2 cups of water. Add quinoa and turn the heat down to a simmer. Simmer till all the liquid is soaked up (5-10 mins). Drain chickpeas and mix with quinoa. Portion out about 1/2-2 cups in a microwave safe bowl. Top with cheese and microwave 45 seconds. Stir and microwave again for 30 seconds. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_0125

Enjoy the vegan healthified mac ‘n cheese.

Another super simple recipe I make for breakfast is Overnight Oats in a Jar. I do this when I have about three tablespoons of nut butter left in the jar.

IMG_0120

Put a cut up banana in the jar with the nut butter. Microwave for 45 seconds. Mix well and stir in 1/2 c almond milk, 1 scoop of protein powder (optional), either 2 T chia seeds or 1/4 c oats and your favorite mix-ins. I used cocoa powder and hemp seeds with this batch. Store in the fridge overnight or for a couple hours.

In the morning, you can eat it cold (I do that in the summer) or warm it up again in the microwave. It is perfect for a frosty morning like today.

IMG_0121

As you might be able to tell, my nut butter jar melted a little bit…I was not deterred and am currently enjoying the goodness. Mine was super thick because of all the add-ins.

IMG_0122

Have a wonderful Saturday!

Leave a Reply

