Smokey Roasted Almonds

IMG_0160

I do enjoy my nuts. Each nut has a very special use and place in my diet. I like to use walnuts in conjunction with dates to make cookies and bars. I use pistachios for crust and more fancy desserts. I like peanuts and almonds in the butter form. I enjoy making cheese out of cashews. My go-to snacking nut is Brazil nuts or almonds. I like Brazil nuts raw because they haveΒ a very distinct flavor themselves. Almonds however, I like to spice up. I actually do not like the taste of raw almonds unless it is in the butter form and topped with a lot of jelly.

Last night I was looking for a way to use a bag of almonds I’ve had for about two months. I also wanted something savory to eat with my Yonanas. The sweetness of the Yonanas really needs something savory to accompany it. Looking through my spice cabinet, I found Cajun seasoning, oregano and cumin. I seriously only bought the Cajun seasoning because it said FOREPLAY on the label. I enjoy the finer things in life…

IMG_0153

The cumin adds smokeyness and the oregano gives the nuts elements of the Italian spice blend I put on pizza. The product ended up very delightful and balanced out the sweetness of the Yonanas perfectly.

IMG_0158

Smokey Roasted Almonds

1t olive oil

1/2 T oregano

1/2 T Cajun seasoning

1/2 T cumin

1t salt

3 c raw almonds

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Pour the almonds in a bowl and toss with olive oil. Mix the spices and salt in a different small bowl. Toss with almonds to coat evenly. Arrange them in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Roast them in the oven for 30-40 minutes mixing once during the process. Allow to cool completely before snacking (I did not do this and wish I had)

IMG_0159

What are you favorite nuts?

Are you a fan of sweet/salty?

2 comments

    • So good right? I meant to give them all to my coworker for her birthday…but I kept half for myself because they were so good! She’ll never know!

Leave a Reply

