Foam Roll Friday

No I have not foam rolled yet today. It’s 8:55AM and I just got home from the gym so the first item on tap is breakfast. I do however plan to foam roll tonight when I get home from work. Part of my New Year’s Resolution is so keep up mobility work throughout my running and marathon build-up. I have a love-hate relationship with foam rolling. I love the way it feels afterwards…and even sometimes during…I just hate carving time to do it. I would rather lay in my bed while watching Scandal than foam roll during it. It’s honestly that simple, but I know unless I write out that I will do it, it’s not going to happen.

IMG_0167

Maybe I should have wrote out my plan a couple days ago to give up added sugar for a week. I had such good intentions…but then woke up and made my usual breakfast of PB&J and banana and before I remembered my plan, it was over. My jelly is the normal kind, it’s fruit with sugar. It’s not just mashed berries. I like the regular kind.

IMG_0165

Writing out resolutions has a large impact for me. It’s almost as if the written word is more concrete. It’s harder to break something that is documented. Some examples for me are the notes I leave on my bathroom mirror to wear earrings and my ring. If I did not write them down, I might remember, but I would certainly shrug it off more easily.

IMG_0166

Yesterday I texted with my friend about a new goal I thought about making for my marathon training…and run training in general. I will refrain from typing it out here because then it will seem final, like I’ve decided to do it, which I haven’t.

The reason I do not want to commit fully is because it takes me out of my comfort zone and I’m not sure it’s completely necessary. It’s like getting a coffee enema (just look it up), it’s uncomfortable, weird and not scientifically proven to work. In terms of running, it is actually counter-intuitive for most runners because being lighter is actually better for them. That’s all I can really say on the subject. I’m still pondering and praying about it…it’s too early to make anything final.

Today is actually really my FRIDAY! I have tomorrow off so I can work on my mom’s website. I am so excited mostly because I NEVER have Saturdays off and also because this is the first one of a definite thing. I will always have Saturdays off from now on! Go me for being proactive!

IMG_0164

Have a fabulous Friday!

How do you stick to goals?

What is your poison? Foam rolling or stretching…or gasp! Both?!

4 comments

  1. I think I understand what you’re thinking about doing for your marathon training and I think you should do it!! Your running would be taken to a whole new level if you were at a healthy weight! I think it’s awesome that you’re thinking about your health and how it affects your training.

  2. I use my foam roller mainly for my back and shoulders, sorta random but it works. Everything I else I do a daily 10 minute yoga flow to stretch out my stiff muscles!

    • I just did yoga for the first time in months on Wednesday and was so sore the next day! My legs weren’t used to the deep stretch. It was great though!

Leave a Reply

