Cheesy Quinoa [Five ingredients to bliss!]

There is a guy who lives in my house that loves mac and cheese. Now this guy doesn’t do it out of the box very often. He makes it from scratch making the white sauce, mixing in the cheddar and the precooked elbow noodles. He then bakes it in the oven in an actual pan! I always know he is in the kitchen if I can smell his glorious mac and cheese. His girlfriend visited last week and so they cooked together a lot. It was really cute and also weird to see him making things that were not those cheesy noodles. They made Na’an, waffles, chili, goulash and many other things. It was like watching a couple of newly weds.

IMG_0207

Well, he inspired me to make a cheesy dish myself. I got this recipe off Pinterest, but changed a few of the ingredients to suit my vegan tastes. I used to search for only vegan recipes on Pinterest, but I found it’s a lot easier to search for what I want and then just change the ingredients to use plant-based foods (not fakes!)

IMG_0201

I Snapchatted my little sister a picture of my eating this that night. We have used a lot of social media to relate to each other rather than spend too much time together. It works. Much to my surprise, yesterday morning she sent me a recipe of a Vegan Cheesy Quinoa with Broccoli recipe she wants to come over and make. She texted “Can we have a date and make this?!?!”

IMG_0200

Of course I agreed! Who am I to say no to her request for a vegan dish?!

IMG_0202

This recipe is perfect for a day like today, cold and snowy. You can also add-in really anything. I topped mine with sun-dried tomatoes and veggie peperroni, but mushrooms or peas would work too.

IMG_0205

Cheesy Quinoa

1 cup Quinoa (dried)

1 t salt

1 t turmeric (optional)

2/3 c vegan yogurt

1 c vegan cheddar cheese

2 T Dijon mustard

Cook the quinoa according to the package instructions. When the quinoa has soaked up all the liquid, add the salt and turmeric. Mix in the vegan yogurt and Dijon before the cheddar cheese for easier stirring and a smooth constancy. Top with whatever you please. Makes two big servings or four sides.

 

IMG_0204

Do you cook with your significant other?

What would be your favorite mix-in?

14 comments

  1. Yummy! This looks great, I love eating homemade rather than out of the box! Hi Ellie πŸ™‚ so glad you joined us for meatless monday, and I hope you will continue to do so in the future πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

