I love my sister, and I didn’t know this could happen

The phrase “We have a rocky relationship” did not even begin to describe the feelings between my younger sister and I. Going from a mostly normal sister relationship when we were young (ok, it was hard for me but it’s over) to basically no contact but fighting for the last five years is a very short way of explaining our dynamic.

Things have changed.

Quinoa dinner date

I grew up and matured. I started to believe in myself, accept others and just be me. After this past summer, I decided to leave our relationship alone. I did not feel responsible for fixing anything and to be honest, I didn’t want to. I did not enjoy being around her or my family for that matter. The only sibling I had any affection for was moving to China so I really had no reason not to leave that past life and grow into someone new.

She changed as well. She stopped being the tattletale. She stopped making it her mission to make sure her life was better than mine. She started learning to be open to who I was. She became a more respectful and beautiful person.

After Christmas, when I received the plaque from her saying “A sister is God proving He does not want us to walk alone”, my heart softened a little bit. Then when she wanted to hang out the week after, I was blown away even more.

Mind you, I was still suspicious because 5 years of hurt is a lot for both of us to get over. I could not deny thought that things seemed to be getting a bit better.

Last week I snapchatted a few pictures of the Cheesy Quinoa I had made to her and a few others. The next morning she sent me a picture of a recipe and asked if we could have a dinner date night and make it together.

I was blown away for many reasons:

1.) This was her idea

2.) The recipe was vegan

3.) She wanted to hang out with me

Of course I agreed because it sounded delicious (recipe tomorrow!) and I realized I was looking forward to spending time with her. It was almost like a friend.

Well, last night she came over. We cooked, watched a movie (sort of) while talking and eating and then we went to yoga at the running store. It was so much fun! We laughed, we talked seriously and I confided in her that I probably won’t go back to a college campus to finish my education. She confided in my that I was right and she cannot wait to move out of the parents house.

I think I finally have a sister…and I’m not afraid to say this OUT LOUD!

This is a very personal thing for me, so no questions, just comments about what you think πŸ™‚

5 comments

  1. This is beautiful and so vulnerable of you to share! I can’t believe you fought and struggled to communicate for more than five years. This is, if nothing else, a beautiful gift because now you’re on your way to building a relationship again. Absolutely lovely!

  2. Now this is just so beautiful. I’m super happy for you, Ellie, and I think it’s really great of you to let go of those past grudges and open yourself up to the possibility of rebuilding that relationship. I’m an only child, and while I used to think it was awesome when I was younger, these days I really wish I had a brother or sister to hang with. That kind of relationship is really a beautiful thing.

    • Aw thanks so much Arman! I have secretly coveted the relationship you have with Nikki…now I don’t have to because I’m forming one of my own πŸ™‚ Cheers to that!

Leave a Reply

