Buffalo Chickpeas with Vegan Bleu Cheese

I cannot believe it took me a couple months to embrace the Hampton Creek Food’s product Just Mayo. After listening to a review on the Our Hen House Podcast, I bought a sample size 8oz jar when I saw it in my local dollar store, put it on my cupboard shelf and there it sat…for months…until two days ago. Truth.

I followed the lawsuit Hellman’s brought against the company a couple months ago over the name “Mayo”. I found it hilarious and also comforting because the Just Mayo product was stealing customers from Hellman’s, which was why they were so angry. I guess the plant based mayo is just a better tasting product for vegans and non-vegans alike. Go Vegans!!

When I lived in Buffalo, I loved my buffalo and hot sauce. I could basically drink the stuff and did not need any type of creamy thing to balance it with. Suddenly, that changed. I really can’t stomach too much of any spicy food. No Sriracha for this girl! Hot sauce basically neutralizes my palate so I cannot taste anything after my first lick of the spice.

I missed buffalo sauce though and have been determined (although not too motivated) to find a recipe I can eat.

I then found a recipe using a vegan mayo with chickpeas that intrigued me. The first thing is that mixing the mayo in with the hot sauce will tone down the flavor punch. Secondly, chickpeas are a bit blander themselves and lend to many flavors so they will also help negate too much hotness. The addition of a vegan bleu cheese dressing was what I decided to do with the rest of the mayo jar. It was a brilliant idea because I have not started spreading it on my hummus and seitan sandwiches as well.

IMG_0213IMG_0218

So versatile and delicious! Even someone who’s a baby about spice will love it!

Buffalo Chickpeas

1 T vegan mayo

2 c chickpeas

1/4 c buffalo sauce

1 t agave nectar

1/2 t apple cider vinegar

1 t salt

Mix all ingredients besides the chickpeas in a bowl. Add the chickpeas and mix well. You can also add a couple ribs of celery here if you choose.

IMG_0214

Vegan Bleu Cheese Dressing

1 c vegan mayo

1 T apple cider vinegar**

1 T lemon juice**

1/2 t tahini

1 t onion powder

Mix all ingredients together.

**You can also crumble in 1/4 of a block of firm tofu to get that “bleu cheese crumble” feel. I chose not to do this because I wanted to use it for other sandwiches as well. You may also want to add more or less apple cider vinegar and lemon juice to suit your taste. There is no right way!

 

IMG_0217

Layer the chickpeas with the dressing, lettuce and tomatoes and WRAP IT UP!

IMG_0221 IMG_0222

How do you feel about spicy food?

What is your favorite buffalo style recipe?

14 comments

  1. Oooohh that sounds so delicious. Vegan blue cheese huh? Interesting, but I can definitely see how it would taste good with those ingredients! Thank you so much for joining us for Meatless Monday! Would you mind adding our button somewhere please? We would really appreciate it, and it would help us grow, and hopefully bring more traffic to your page too. Keep those recipes coming πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

