Grin and bear it…or take some meds

When I have a headache, I usually just try to grin and bear it. I figure it will pass soon enough and there’s no point in taking a pill that could compromise my immune system or give me a tummy ache.

pain reliever3

The headache I have and have had for the past two days is not this type of thing.

Usually, when I feel sick or nauseous, I can attribute it to low blood sugar, thirst or exhaustion. Therefore, the remedy is usually food, drink or sleep.

This is not one of those times, and I want to rant about it Out Loud.

pain reliever2

It all started a couple nights ago. I was about to get in bed and wanted a bit of chocolate to send me into slumber. So I got a spoon and the chocolate butter jar, intending to have one spoonful. Just as I was swallowing it, my chest seized. I really thought I was having a heart attack (I don’t know what that feels like so probably not), and even before I fully swallowed the chocolate, I was on the floor in a fetal position. The feeling went away after a few minutes, and I wiped off the sweat and got into bed.

The next day my stomach felt, not off, but different. Because it didn’t hurt, I did not think anything of it. I went through my day and was fine.

Yesterday I woke up with a wonky stomach and was fine until I got out of the shower after my workout. I suddenly felt so tired and sick, I had to take a nap before work and I hadn’t been awake for three hours yet! I thought about calling in to work (something I NEVER do) but didn’t because I was going to yoga and out for burritos after work with a friend. I got to work and felt pretty much ok until we closed. I felt so tired I told my friend I would most likely fall asleep at yoga. She suggested we skip it and just go for dinner.

So that’s what we did.

I felt ok till I went to sleep. This last night I woke up sweating three times, went to the bathroom twice and just felt terrible. I woke up feeling better so I went out for my run. I felt mostly ok and my headache only got worse when I got home (right now).

pain reliever

Enough it enough. I decided to put aside the problems I have with pain reliever and take some meds. Now that I’m eating and the drugs are starting to kick in, I’m feeling better. I wonder if I had taken the drugs before my run I would have felt better sooner.

What do you think about pain reliever?

When you’re sick, what things do you to feel better when you still have to work?

2 comments

  1. Ack. Sorry to hear that you’re not feeling well, girl — hope you feel better soon! There seem to be a lot of weird bugs going around lately, and I’ve known a good handful of people who were complaining about odd aches and stomach woes. I guess it’s just that time of the year.

    • Yea it’s getting better, it makes you really appreciate food when all you can eat for two days is applesauce and bread 🙂

Leave a Reply

