Meatless Monday [Maple Roasted Butternut Squash] for Valentine’s Day

Well guys, it happened this morning. I fell [slipped], crashed and burned on a steep, icy hill this morning on the way to the gym. It was a long time coming, and I was ready for it to happen. Each winter I usually fall sometime. It’s a bit inevitable here in Ithaca. With an elevation grade as big as the change in temperature from summer to winter, everyone falls. This year, the sidewalk outside my apartment building is under construction, so that means it is not plowed very well.

Recipe for disaster.

It happened this morning. I got up, assessed the damage [maybe a few bruises but mostly pride] and kept going. I feel basically fine, and kind of relieved. My one fall is over. Horrah!

What isn’t a recipe for disaster is this squash recipe.

I am still in complete winter vegetable mode: potatoes, corn, squash, beans etc. They are still so comforting and great for the negative temperatures.

This past Saturday was Valentine’s Day so my single friends and I planned a wine pairing dinner party. We each made a course to pair with my friend’s monthly wine selections.

I got the vegetable course, so squash was totally happening. I suggested the butternut to my friend and she said that actually squash was suggested as a perfect companion to white wine. Who knew?!

This recipe is SO SIMPLE and measurements are not exact. Use whatever herbs or sauces you want, it works every time.

Another great thing about the recipe is that you have a ten to fifteen minute window of time to get them out of the oven where they will still be perfect.

meatlessmonday2

Maple Roasted Butternut Squash

2 lbs butternut squash cubed

1.5 T coconut oil

1 T maple syrup

1 t onion powder

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Spread out the squash on a large baking sheet in an even layer. Melt the coconut oil in the microwave or over a pan on the stove. Mix in the maple syrup and onion powder. Pour the mixture over the butternut squash and mix in till coated [I used my hands to do this]. Season the top with salt and pepper. Roast in the over for 50-60 minutes or until a nice caramelization has formed on top of the squash.

Remove from the oven and serve immediately.

Leftovers keep well. I ate them cold with my lunch the next day.

Meatless Monday

Don’t forget to checkout Meatless Monday over at Tina’s and Deborah’s blogs!

7 comments

  1. Ooooh what a great combination. I have never had it with maple, but I bet it would be amazing. I could eat butternut squash for every meal. Thanks for the recipe, and thanks for joining us for meatless monday πŸ™‚ yay!

Leave a Reply

