WIAW: The Coldest Day Of Winter

Yesterday was the coldest morning of winter. The two minutes I spent running to and from the gym chilled me to the bone. When I walked to work at 8:30, it was -20 degrees. I did not take a picture of the temperature, because everyone else in Ithaca did and Instagrammed it. I was actually happy to be working and have things to keep my moving and warm. It would have been miserable to sit inside cold all day.

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

I did however, remember to take a few pictures of what I noshed on. It’s really fun to take pictures now because my phone camera is so good. I don’t know how I survived [first world problems]. Oh wait, I just took pictures with horrible lighting and it was fine. I digress.

Thanks to Jenn from Peas and Crayons for the WIAW start. There is no link-up this week, but that never stopped me before!

IMG_0235

Breakfast: The last of my green superfood cereal [I bought this is July…and just finished it. It tastes good, but I never want too much of it. Today, I just dived in and finished the 1.5 cups that were left.] topped with banana and blueberries

IMG_0236

Lunch: A Panini style wrap enclosing a veggie burger, Daiya mozzarella cheese, sprouts, spinach and sautéed onions. A vegetable barley soup on the side.

IMG_0238

Dinner: Fiesta red rice with two black bean cakes. I also ate some [unpictured] chips with mango and pineapple salsa. I liked the salsa a lot, but after a couple bites, it didn’t pair so well with this meal…another day!

IMG_0239

Meal 4: I always think this is too big to be called a snack. An opal apple [my new fave!], a Clif Builder’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bar and some Brazil Nuts.

Those were my eats on the coldest morning of the year!

What is your favorite apple? Favorite salsa?

What do you eat when it’s cold?

13 comments

  1. That heart shaped bowl is adorable. My favorite apple is also the most expensive one, the honey crisp. I haven’t had one in years because I can’t justify the price but they are sooo good.

  2. Wait, there’s a specific definition of snack size 😉 ? Not so much, I think. Honestly, some of my snacks end up bigger than my meals, haha.
    I’d honestly eat all of your food but I’m especially curious about dinner. How did you prepare the fiesta rice?

Leave a Reply

