Running the Comparathon

Bleh I’m in a bit of a sour mood. Last night the top of my foot was feeling sore, but I didn’t think too much of it. I rested, took an ibuprofen and went to sleep. This morning, it still felt sore, and on my jog to the gym I could still feel it.

foot1

I want to do a race in two weeks, so I decided that rather than injure it completely, I would do something not as load baring. I changed my workout to the elliptical with some bike sprints. I was fine with this then and had a great workout.

However, tomorrow I have a feeling my foot will still be sore, which means my long run will be again simulated on the elliptical. I have done this before, but it’s not my favorite. I like running and two hour elliptical rides are not the most ideal way to spend a Saturday morning. I get a good workout, but it’s the running I love. I like thinking “I ran 16 miles” rather than “I did 2 hours on the elliptical”.

satrun

This brought me to the subject of “comparathons” or judging myself to my prior self or to others. I mostly am good at not comparing myself to other people. Sure it’s hard sometimes, but I generally know my body and know that we are all different. Comparing myself to myself is a different story.

foot2

I like to see myself improving.

Granted, where I am now I could not even fathom a few years ago. I never thought I would be able to run as much as I can. Coming from that perspective, who said one mile isn’t worth it? Everyone who is active is a complete badass!

Would I say that someone who lifts Crossfit is less than I because they do not run? NEVER!

foot3

Would I say that the woman who ellipticals everyday for an hour and does bodyweight stretches is less than I because she doesn’t run? NO WAY!

Why should I compare my zero mileage today to what I did last week or last year? The point is, I’m getting out and doing something. I’m improving my aerobic base (which is important for when I want to do longer distances). I’m doing the best I can on that day.

Today, I did not run. Tomorrow I’m probably not going to either. And that’s ok. I’m done with comparathons.

Are you a more compare yourself to yourself or to others person?

How do you handle setbacks in training?

5 comments

    • Sometimes I do hahaha πŸ™‚ Sometimes I have to take a step back, and get off that train and be happy with who I am.

  1. I am terrible at comparing myself to others. It’s something I really need to work on. And I don’t know if this will help with your foot, but I’ve been crazy sore the past few days because of all my crazy workouts, and the past two nights I’ve been lying with my legs up the wall for about 15-20 minutes before going to bed and I’m waking up not as sore if at all. It’s really restorative.

Leave a Reply

