Every Workout Has A Purpose

I notice that since I’ve been unable to run, my posts have been much more exercise focused. I think about workouts more now that I have to do different things, and I also have to spend more time telling myself that I am not losing running fitness. I know that prehabbing a potential injury is smarter for me in the long run, but I still have to talk myself into this.

injury

This past week had been a challenge mentally both because ellipticalling can be boring and because I want to race in about a week and that might not happen. I was really excited for that race because it was more of an intro race. A just for fun type of thing that would get me into the racing spirit. I was going to try of course, but I had no real goals for it besides finish.

Doing no running this week, and seeing it as no miles, is very humbling. Yesterday I was in that mood all day. I felt like, even with hitting a new workout, I still wasn’t running and therefore I wasn’t really “working” towards my goal of marathoner. It almost felt like a wasted week.

injury2

Even though thoughts of uselessness plagued my mind, I stayed with the plan of cross-training. I didn’t push it harder than usual and try to run. Last night, I finally felt some respite when going to bed.

Every workout has a purpose.

I wrote a post about comparathons last week. I need to take my own advice.

I believe every person who moves their body is doing something beautiful for their health, no matter what it is. Just because I may not be using my workouts this week to further my race goals, I am still doing marvelous things for my health, mindset and vitality. I am still enjoying getting a good sweat, listening to podcasts and being active. I am still making myself happy.

As the weather gets warmer and my injury heals, I have been reminded to enjoy the weather even more. I have been reminded to take every opportunity for fitness I can, because it is something I love.

6

Running will always be my bread and butter, but through injury I have been reminded that each type of fitness is important for life. Head over to Amanda’s Blog for all the other people thinking out loud today! 🙂

What is your favorite way to sweat?

2 comments

  1. I’m sorry to hear you are dealing with an injury right now! I’m just starting to come back from taking some time off for patellar tendonitis. I know what you mean about those feelings when you can’t run. Hope you heal up soon!

Leave a Reply

