The Blue Zones [how we all can do it!]

WOO A DAY OFF! Time to THINK OUT LOUD!

I seriously should have taken the Monday after my race off. My legs were and still are feeling it! They are SORE this morning! Those hills yesterday, followed by a work shift and then yoga has made my tree trunks nice and fat with swelling soreness. I can’t say I’m mad. I like the swelling sometimes because my booty looks good 😎

running3

Today I was going to go buy a bike (finally) but my mom asked if I would come to her shop this afternoon to take some pictures and launch the site. That should be fun, but I don’t know if the site will get launched yet because I have not put the logo up and don’t really know how. I hope it’s not too hard and we can do it today. If not, it will be nice to see my mom.

Quite honestly, nothing has been on my mind except running. I think about it so much (even more than I did) and love it more everyday. Maybe it’s the weather, maybe it’s that I see so many more people running, but it’s this thing in my mind I cannot quite get rid of. I hope it never leaves!

This morning I listened to the Rich Roll podcast and he interviewed Dan Buettner, the author of The Blue Zones.

bluezones2

Essentially, the Blue Zones are places around the world with the highest proportion of people who live to be 100 years old. He studied these populations for years to determine what characteristics make those people more likely to live long. Some of the highlights included living without convenience and having a plant based diet. Living without convenience means they don’t push a button and things get done, they do it themselves. They have gardens, do housework, live outside most of the day. In fact, Dan stated that they are usually interrupted from sitting once every 20 minutes. This was not because their smartphone told them to move, it was the way their life was structured. He (Dan) then spoke about the work he was doing using Urban planning to mimic Blue Zone behavior. These things included mandating a no smoking policy and bike lanes in all new roads. On the school level, one of the policies he helped initiate was a no eating in the classroom or hallway. Studies show that when children do this, the food is more likely to be unhealthy chips or pop. Schools who have these policies have a student population with a 11% less BMI than schools who don’t.

bluezonesmap

This was super interesting! The Blue Zone populations do not have a “longevity diet” or “exercise” in a traditional sense. They have just been bred to live actively.

What was the coolest thing about these populations was that they were also the most happy people in the world as well. They felt, even with limited technology or means, that they had a very high life satisfaction. They had a very high social network that was offline. Meaning, they had friends who they knew in person and interacted with. These populations have the lowest amount of depression and loneliness in the world. It is quite remarkable.

What did I take away? Live simply, make moving a part of everyday and of course, eat plant-based.

What do you think about the Blue Zones?

Have you read Dan’s book? 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

