WIAW [The Plant Power Way, time to change it up]

I have been recently inspired by Rich Roll. I talk about him and his podcast at least twice a month. I talk about his because his message and guests have been critical in my spiritual, emotional and physical growth. He and his wife are putting out a new book called The Plant Power Way where they outline how you and your family can optimize wellness through a plant based diet and meditative lifestyle change.

april226

Why am I harping on him again? Well, because of the release of the book, he has been a guest on basically all the other podcasts I’ve listened to. Instead of doing a book tour, he has essentially done a podcast tour. I have been exposed to he and his wife Julie’s message countless times this past week and it has made me reevaluate my eating habits.

I am not saying I eat too bad, but the way I have gone about it recently has been unbalanced. I can honestly say I haven’t cooked anything inΒ over a month. A MONTH! This includes something as easy as boiling rice! Now I do get a lot of food from my job, but in the past I have gotten creative with taking that and making dishes out of it. Honestly, for the past few months, I ate sandwiches for every meal. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were a bagel sandwich or a wrap. I’m not saying this is a problem health-wise (I love my gluten!) but Rich has inspired me to get out of my rut. I made the decision to take a little bit of time, cook some easy things and eat some different foods.

Yesterday I did some batch cooking. I made bowtie pasta (pasta is more fun with shapes!), quinoa and lentil/walnut taco filling. I also made some vegan cashew/date/chocolate/nut butter things that were accidental, but turned out good (recipe later!)

Long story short, my WIAW only has ONE SANDWICH (because I started cooking after lunch πŸ™‚

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

[BREAKFAST] Overnight breakfast cereal(almond milk, Ezekiel4:9 cereal, vanilla protein powder, chia seeds, hemp seeds, Maca powder, coconut flakes)Β  mixed fruit, lemon water

april221

[LUNCH] Vegan Rueben (seitan, cheddar cheese, sauerkraut), snap peas, coffee

april225

april224

[DINNER] MY FIRST BOWL! quinoa with lentil/walnut taco filling, avocado and salsa, carrots and dip on side

april223

[SNACK] Two cashew/date/pb/chocolate cups I’ve yet to name but were delicious

april222

Do you get in a food rut?

What are some good batch cooking tips?

 

6 comments

  1. I love snap peas, and those whatever things you haven’t named yet look amazing. I’m sad this morning because I forgot to prepare my overnight oats last night so breakfast was lacking.

    • Those cup nut thingies could have been really bad…but most things taste better with chocolate and peanut butter πŸ™‚

  2. Food ruts? Me? Nooo way. Read: totally. It’s why I want to start meal planning and/or prepping ahead again. If I leave the decision of what to eat until I’m hungry the case is lost and I’ll gravitate towards the same dishes over and over again.
    Will you share the recipe for the yet-to-be-named chocolate cups? Because they look and sound really good and – you guessed it – I’ve been in a snack rut, too, so … help me out πŸ˜‰ ?

Leave a Reply

