Cashew Butter Blossoms [Vegan]

Who doesn’t remember Peanut Butter Blossoms? You know, that cookie on the back of the Hershey’s Kisses package around Christmas time. The recipe is simple, a peanut butter cookie (or regular cookie) base with a Hershey’s kiss pressed into the center.

Peanut-Butter-Blossom-Cookies

When I was younger, if I was especially good (or, my mom had a craving) she would put mini Reeses Cups in the middle instead. Let’s get real, she used whatever was left of the last holiday’s discounted candy. Halloween M&Ms at Thanksgiving anyone?

Either way, when you removed the packaging of the Hershey’s or Reese’s, the candy inside was the same. Delicious in every way.

I would eat the whole pan if I could. Usually, when I made them, the cookie flattened out in the oven, so it never looked like the picture. I never wanted to wait for the butter to get to room temperature, so I would melt it to speed up the process…and add melted butter to the batter. It tasted great so I thought I was doing it right…however, the oven would reveal my trick.

Therefore, my cookie looked like a pancake with a Kiss on top. The Kiss is supposed to be nestled in the cookie, which should retain an almost cookie dough ball form even when cooked.

Not for me.

After a few years, I got inventive and decided to make the cookies in a muffin tin. That way, I could still use my tricks and the cookie would some what retain it’s form around the kiss. My mom thought I was genius (still am!) and that was how I have made them ever since.

Now to this recipe. It began as a failed attempt at raw vegan cheesecake cups. However, the crust called for dates and walnuts, while the inside called for soaked cashews as it’s main ingredient…I however accidentally put the dates and the cashews in the food processor together and…well…the crust I made would never have held up. It was too much like batter…a cookie dough batter…fast forward 20 minutes and an oven at 350 and I made a vegan friendly version of the same blossom cookies I used to love. Not exactly as raw as I wanted, but delicious just the same.

april222

Cashew Butter Blossoms

1.5 c cashews soaked for three hours (or a half hour in hot water)

1 c dates soaked in warm water for 10 minutes

Chocolate chips

Nut butter of choice

Preheat the oven to 350.  Drain the dates and cashews. In a food processor, pulse the dates and cashews till they resemble a cookie dough texture. Press the dough into the bottom of 8-10 muffin cups in a muffin baking pan. Place a dollop (2tsp) of nut butter into the top of eat muffin cup. Top the nut butter with a few chocolate chips (the more the better I find). Place the pan in the oven and cook for about 10 minutes. Pull the tray out and swirl the nut butter and chocolate chips together to form a messy crust. Using a knife, slide the blade around the outside edge of each muffin cup (you’ll thank me later). Refrigerate to set the top of the cookie.

Enjoy!!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

