Lentil and Walnut Taco Bowls [Meatless Monday]

I have not participated in a Meatless Monday in a few weeks (months?!). I truly miss contributing and also stealing the great recipes over on Tina’s Blog! Check it out for more information and some great running (and everyday) eats!

Meatless Monday
Who doesn’t love tacos? I fondly remember Taco Tuesday back in my freshman year of college. We all looked forward to the taco bar, the quesadillas and the Mexican feel. My roommates and I always said “Everyone is the same race on Taco Tuesday.” I don’t really know what I meant, but it was funny while we stood in the endless line for tacos.
This was my pre-vegan days soΒ I usually got meat and cheese. There was usually a chicken, beef and cheese option, but now looking back, never a vegan option. Sure, there were beans on the salad bar, but never did a chef create a meatless substitute for ground beef. ItΒ was such a shame because the best burritos are stuffed with seasoned beans, guacamole and pico de gallo. My favorite taco place down the road has calabacitas which is a bean and corn filling that I love very much. Next week maybe haha.
Today’s recipe is a vegan taco filling. Super simple and delicious you will not miss any animal product. I find that it’s not the animal flesh part of meat that people like, it’s the spices and marinates they associate with that meat that they cannot do without. Well, you won’t have to! I used a spice mix that can also be used for ground meat and chicken (or meatless crumbles and Beyond Meat chicken strips) but taste the best with the beans and nuts I use.
The combination of lentils and walnuts provides iron, something females and athletes specifically need to make sure they replenish with exercise, and fats to make for healthy skin, hair, nails and hormones. The combination of fat and fiber will keep you full and energy filled all day. Put this filling in tacos or on taco salad for a delicious cruelty free Mexican experience!
Lentil and Walnut Taco Filling
1/2 cΒ  lentils
1 c crushed walnuts (about the size of the lentils)
1 t cumin
1 t chili powder
1 T salt
Cook the lentils to the package instructions. Toward the end of the cooking process turn down the heat to low. While there is a bit of liquid still unabsorbed, add in spices. Stir till combined. Add the crushed walnuts and allow lentils to finish absorbing liquid. Keep cooking about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, stir and enjoy!
april223
I made a burrito bowl with the filling, quinoa, avocado and salsa.
How do you like your tacos?
6 comments

  1. Love tacos, Taco Tuesday, or any night I will enjoy them to get my Mexican craving fix! We are actually having lentil taco lettuce wraps for dinner tonight! Thank you for linking up for Meatless Monday!

Leave a Reply

