Raw Vegan Carrot Cake

My favorite cake is that of the carrot. Every year for my birthday, I wanted that delicious combination of carrots, coconut, nutmeg and cinnamon. Most years I asked if my mom would add pineapple and raisins too. Then, it all came together with the cream cheese frosting.

Yum!

Since I went vegan, I have had a few vegan carrot cupcakes, all of which were good. I however will admit, I burn everything I put in the oven. I hate wasting food, so I usually eat it…yes now you get my decision to make sandwiches all the time.

A couple months ago I discovered this whole “raw vegan” food movement. I thought it was cool, tried my hand at a few recipes, but mostly put it on the back burner. I admit, I still hear the phrase “raw vegan” and think of baby carrots…perfect for this cake!

Enjoy!

may5

Carrot Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting

For the frosting: 

2 cups raw cashews (must be raw, I use raw pieces)

1/4+ cup fresh squeezed, lemon juice

2 tsp pure vanilla extract (or the inside of a scraped vanilla bean)

1/4 cup maple syrup (use raw if your diet permits & you can find it!)

a healthy pinch of sea salt

1 tbs coconut oil.

Soak the cashews for three hours. Combine everything in the food processor and blend till a frosting consistency is achieved. Store in the fridge while you make the cake.

For the carrot cake: 

2 cups raw walnuts, chopped in a chopper, food processor or high-speed blender to teeny bits.

10 very soft and large medjool dates.

1 lb of organic carrots, shredded

1 tbs coconut oil (not the liquid, the regular virgin coconut oil that turns solid when cold)

1/2 cup of  fairly finely shredded, unsweetened coconut. If your flakes are large, toss these in the food processor or chopper as well before adding to the mix.

1 tsp of ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

Pulse the walnuts into small pieces, pour into another bowl. Put the dates and carrots in the food processor and pulse till a paste is made. Stir into the walnuts. Add the coconut, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir till combined. Press into either a pie pan or a 8×4 inch baking pan. Spread on the cream cheese frosting.

Try not to eat it all at once! I actually ate this for breakfast twice. It’s more hearty than sweet.

Have you ever experimented with raw food?

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

