Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars [Meatless Mondays!]

Hello and happy Monday! Today I am linking up with Tina Muir over at Fuel Your Future for Meatless Mondays. Did you know that the single most effective thing you can do for the planet, your health and animal welfare is to abstain from animal products? If you aren’t fully on the bandwagon (because it is a growing movement), then Meatless Mondays are for you!

Come on! Oats for breakfast, PB&J for lunch and pasta for dinner. Simple, standard and compassionate fare! Let’s all do our part to help the planet!

Today I was inspired by my friend T. He is a fellow runner and peanut butter lover (a guy after my own heart!) and challenged me last week after making chocolate chip cookies with chickpeas, to make an oatmeal raisin variety.

1

What a great idea! Too bad I didn’t have raisins (ok…I just like chocolate better). However, any mix-in will do for these. I think cinnamon chips would also be a lovely compliment, as would dried blueberries that go with the walnuts.

Meatless Monday

Again, I used the combination of chickpeas and peanut butter to get that gooey consistency of cookie dough without the use of eggs. It really works guy I swear!

3

After you make these, head over to Tina’s blog for some more Meatless dishes to fuel you body and save the planet.

2

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars

1 can chickpeas drained and rinsed (15/16oz)

1 cup oats

3/4 cup peanut butter

2 t vanilla

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t baking powder

1/3 cup maple syrup

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

3/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat over to 350 degrees and spray a 4×9 baking pan (or a square dish, it’s no difference). In a food processor, combine the chickpeas, peanut butter, vanilla, maple syrup, baking powder and baking soda. Process till smooth. Pour out in another bowl and stir in the oats, chocolate chips and walnuts. Spread into prepared pan and bake for 25 minutes. Take out of the oven and serve for a warm gooey bite!

1

I actually then put the rest in the fridge and it has been nice having a colder cookie dough treat for dessert.

Do you participate in Meatless Mondays?

What is your favorite cookie dough?

14 comments

    • You’re welcome as always! Next week I will remember to tag your blog! Because Tina asked me to participate, I always forget you are the co-meatless lady!

    • I just cannot stop preaching about the versatility of the chickpea. Sweet, savory or plain, they are delicious!

  1. Oh Ellie, these look ahhhhmazing! I love things like this! I love that your photo shows the gooeyness of the choc chips too! Thanks so much for linking up πŸ™‚ oh and thanks for the reminder for people why they should join us for meatless monday πŸ™‚

    • If you try them, tell me how you liked them! Please feel free to add whatever improvements you think would be good πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

