Ellie’s Fudgy Vegan Brownies [No bake, No beans, 4 Ingredients]

I love thick, dense, chocolate fudge. The kind that coats your teeth when you bite into it and you need a toothbrush to get it off. Yes, I have been the person who will only eat truffles and fudge at parties where there is no other vegan option.

I also am not the world’s greatest baker. I don’t bake, I burn. Therefore, no bake options are the best thing for me.

No bake+Chocolate=WIN

These brownies, OH MY GOD, what can I say? They are thick, gooey, delicious and require minimal effort. The food processor does the work, you pop them in the fridge and when you want a piece, that’s when you frost it. Super easy for single people like me who want a different frosting each night (ok…I switch it up between peanut butter, cookie butter and frosting).

1

These bars are made with nuts and fruit, so NO BEANS ARE REQUIRED! Don’t get me wrong, I love my beans, but not for these. They are not necessary for a fudgy texture. By using fruit, you also don’t need to add any sugar.

Less ingredients=Less $$=WIN!

Another great thing about these treats, very few ingredients! If you use a nut butter as a frosting (or none at all…yes they are that good, but I am a glutton) there are FOUR INGREDIENTS! Four! Can I come over and make these for you? Please?

Before I forget, make sure to head over to Tina’s Blog for Meatless Monday today to check out all the other Meatless recipes to suit your fancy.

Meatless Monday

Ellie’s Fudgy Vegan Brownies

  • 1 cup raw walnuts
  • 1 cup raw almonds
  • 2 1/2 cups dates, pitted (if dry, soak in warm water for 10 minutes, then drain)
  • 3/4 cup cacao powder or unsweetened cocoa powder

In a food processor, add walnuts and almonds and pulse to a fine grain. Add in cocoa powder and pulse till combined. Pour out into another bowl. Clean the food processor and add in the dates. Pulse until the consistency is small pieces. Pour out into another bowl. Add the nut and cocoa mixture back into food processor. Turn it on and add the dates in small handfuls back into the mixture. Once all the dates are in, add warm water in small tablespoons untilΒ a fudgy consistency is achieved. Press into a 9×9 inch baking pan and put in the fridge. After a couple hours, you may choose to frost it (or not, it’s totally fine on it’s own!)

2

I chose a cookie butter frosting, but then again, I frost after I cut my piece.

They are SO GOOD and SUPER FILLING! I could say try not to eat the whole pan, but they are so rich, you probably won’t have that problem πŸ™‚

What is your favorite brownie recipe?

22 comments

    • I just like to eat a brownie as a sweet treat before bed. It’s getting hotter here, so a cup of tea before I go to sleep would make me SWEAT =P

  1. Um.. I need those brownies ASAP. I almost want to leave work to go make them.. haha. Maybe I’ll just have to use my lunch break to get the ingredients : ) I have made brownies with black beans before but these sounds WAY more tasty : )

    • They are! I am eating my last one right now…but am making another version for myself (and a friend) tomorrow πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Fudge is amazing! My mom only makes it around Christmas time, and the year-round wait makes it that much better. These remind me of cliff bars, which are delicious, so these look promising! πŸ™‚

    • Make them and tell me what you think! My coworker loved them (she’s started calling my goodies “Ellie treats” and looks forward to them on Mondays πŸ˜‰

  3. Wow, these look SO fudgy! I like that you included “no beans” in the title because that was my first thought when I saw the words vegan brownies haha. I somehow just can’t get past the mental aspect of beans + chocolate haha.

    • I love beans in some desserts, but sometimes I think they can be overused. Why not make something even simpler and omit them? πŸ™‚

  4. I love that you put “no beans” in the title haha every vegan recipe either has black beans, chickpeas, etc. and while that’s great, it gets monotonous. Good call πŸ™‚ These look awesome!

    I NEED A FOOD PROCESSOR! I’m also currently starving before a run (no bueno) so looking at this post is pure torture.

Leave a Reply

