Five Things Friday [What happened to LOL?]

Let’s get real, I was totally a part of the instant messaging generation. I was a user of “LOL”, “BRB”, “G2G” and the ever confusing LYLAS (you know you used it on those people you didn’t like just to be nice)

twitter-abbreviations

However, sometimes present day social media makes me thing I am in a foreign country. I actually look up terms on Google every time I see a status that looks as if the Tweeter is quizzing me on the correct organization of the alphabet. I need to get myself straightened out. Today I am linking up with Fitting It All In and Five Things Friday (with this soon be 5TF? or maybe FTF? Who knows?!?!)

social-media-explained-noobs-2

TBH: To Be Honest

This is the hardest one for me to remember because it is VERY popular. I see it at least once every twenty posts and I Google it every time. TBH, why would I lie on Twitter anyway and need to use this acronym?

OOTD: Outfit Of The Day

This is one I see on Snapchat. My friend will take a picture of herself in a pretty dress and just write OOTD in a very large font. She looks cute, but I always want to sound out the word and sound like a toddler learning to speak. Thanks girllllll, you lookin’ fine!

296dc212305b181b9b99ed9264a2fee1

BFD: Big Freaking Deal

I actually like this one when it is in my Daily Skimm email because they use it in the context of World News. Things that are one BFD. When I see a picture of a cat playing with a laser toy on the ground and the tag it “My cat is soooo smart BFD!” I don’t understand, or care. NABFD (guess what that means)

FOMO: Fear Of Missing Out

I think this post could be retitled FOMO…if I really cared that much about using these acronyms. I think millennials use social media so much because of this fear and it is causing less physical interactions and relationships. Only time will tell how this affects future generations.

6a00d8341c761a53ef0133f5080919970b-pi

ICYMI: In Case You Missed It

Ok, it usually only take me a couple seconds to get this one but it is also a trigger that the post is a “repost” and I can skip it. What gets me is people who post ICYMI about five times a day for one article. I obviously didn’t miss it. Thank you for showing me 16 pictures of cats…5 times…

Others I understand but fail to use: BAE, MCM, TBT, FBF, “hashtag”

grammar

[I agree…but sometimes 140 characters is not enough]

I think I finally will remember these acronyms.

What is your most used phrase on social media?

 

 

One comment

  1. Hmmm that’s a good question. I’m not totally sure what my most used phrase is, but it’s probably something embarrassing like YOLO. I’m always so behind on the times I loved this post – keeping me informed : ) Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

