Vegan Cinnamon Brownies

Happy Meatless Monday everyone! Don’t know what that means? Well basically an ELITE runner and culinary BA Tina Muir hosts a link up each Monday encouraging her readers to go meatless.

Meatless Monday

Why is this so important? Well, meat consumption is responsible for a huge percentage of global warming, animal fat and protein is linked to cancer causing disease and KILLING ANIMALS IS MEAN!

Off soap box (for today) head over to Tina’s Blog for more delicious meals and snacks to fuel your compassionate day!

The recipe I have for you today is dear to my heart. I love oatmeal cinnamon cookies. My mom used to make them when I was young and they were the first cookie I ever remember helping her make (ok…I licked the beaters) We always made them on rainy days because they were so comforting. Cinnamon, oats…warms my heart!

These cookies are made with chickpeas, walnuts and oats, but they are not a health food. There are two types of sugar and not of the banana or date variety. Brown sugar and maple syrup.

They take little time to prepare and have a short baking time. I know these will become a staple in your house for years to come!

1

Vegan Cinnamon Brownies

1.5 cups cooked chickpeas

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 c uncooked oats

1 t vanilla

1 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

2 T cinnamon

1/2 c crushed walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350. In a food processor, combine all the ingredients except the walnuts. Process until combined (about 30 seconds). Mix in the walnuts and pour into a sprayed square baking dish. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until you see the edges of the brownies start to pull away from the pan. Allow to cool. Devour!

2

What is one comfort food of your childhood?

14 comments

  1. Awwwww you are too sweet πŸ™‚ Thank you! Love recipes that mean a lot to us and remind us of our childhood, great idea to make them into brownies! Yum! thanks for helping promote MM! πŸ™‚

  2. It’s like you know me. Haha. I love this recipe and will need to make it ASAP! I used to live on Kraft Mac and Cheese for dinner, it was my absolute favorite and go to if I wasn’t feeling well. Dessert wise I usually ate ice cream cake. I was not healthy by ANY means growing up! Haha. Hope you have a fantastic Monday!!

    • I have never been a fan of ice cream cake. I think it’s the brain freeze I got trying to bite through it. I’d rather lick my ice cream 😎 Kraft mac n cheese though, oh babe I could eat a whole box! They must put crack in that!

    • Honestly, I usually finish one dessert each week, so I have to make new one. I try to remember to snap a picture of it before I devour it, and BOOM, recipe post! πŸ™‚

  3. Nothing wrong with licking the beater πŸ˜‰ Those brownies sound really tempting… When I was a kid my mom used to make chocolate chip cookies a lot. I’ve got a vegan version now, but I still open the oven to sniff them mid-bake πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

