Saucony Kinvara Shoe Review

I cannot remember a time in my life where I have bought the exact same model of shoe twice in a row. I really like to switch up brands and try new things. I also am on the hunt for a good deal, so even if I likeΒ a shoe, I might try something new because it is cheaper. Such is the life of a twenty-something.

The Saucony Kinvara shoe is the only exception (so far) to this pattern.

I fell in love with this shoe seeing in the window of the Finger Lakes Running and Triathlon Company store. My first pair, the pink ones, immediately drew my eye. The looked sleek and feminine, something attractive to me. I went inside and the saleswoman (Rebecca) began to describe the shoe.

IMG_0177

IMG_0178

Having just read Born to Run and having minimalism on the brain, I wanted a relatively low drop shoe that is lightweight. The Kinvara is a 4mm drop and very light. This is great because I can always feel it in my calves with a heavy shoe. I also did not want much ankle support. Shoes with too much support make my ankles weak and I get injured easier.

IMG_0175

I did a short treadmill run in the shoes and fell for them immediately. Rebecca suggested I try a few other shoes just to make sure. I tried on a few Brooks and a couple others, but no others had the same feel as the Kinvaras. I bought them right there.

A couple months later, I needed to get a new pair of shoes after wearing them through the Spring Forward 15k slush and snow.

satrun

I went again to the store with an open mind not tied to any brand. I tried on about 6 pairs, but still loved the Kinvaras. So I bought them again. This time, highlighter yellow! They continue to work very well for me and I will keep buying them as long as my feet are happy.

 

kinvara1kinvara2

Some more information about the Kinvaras:

  • Flexfilm upper in a neutral running shoe style
  • Lace-up front
  • RunDry collar lining
  • 4mm heel to toe offset
  • Textile lining, cushioning Comfortlite sockliner
  • Memory Foam heel pods
  • Strobel Last
  • Powergrid heel insert
  • Cushioning EVA midsole
  • XT-900 rubber traction outsole with triangular lug

kinvara3

 

Check out the Finger Lakes Running store on the Ithaca Commons to get yourself a pair of these shoes. You will not regret it!

All opinions are my own.

I currently run and train with:

Team FLTRC

60

Red Newt Racing/Mountain Peak Fitness

RNR_MPF

5 comments

  1. So glad you found your sole mate πŸ™‚ Haha horribly embarrassing pun but I had to. I consistently buy Nike Pegasus over and over. It seems to work the best for me, and I like to stick with what I know. Great review!

  2. Reblogged this on Finger Lakes Running and commented:
    Check out one of our Red New Racing/FLRTC Ambassador’s latest product review for the Saucony Kinvara. Its a great light weight minimal shoes with a little bit of cushion and protection under the foot. The latest and greatest Kinvara 6 just hit the market so be sure to swing by the shop to try it out!

Leave a Reply

