Monday Mania [Raw Till 4]

More changes are happening this week and I could not be more excited!

I’ll admit it, as a vegan, I eat all the things. I have a high gluten tolerance, can go high carb, high fat, high sugar and whatever else. I feel blessed that God has given me a pretty great digestive system. However, I do like to try all types of cuisiene from diets within the vegan movement.

I was introduced to Raw Veganism through Pinterest actually. I hate baking things because I burn them. Solution: no bake recipes…that turned out to be raw! These sweet treats are a huge hit at my job…and I love them too!

I hadn’t really given this diet a second thought, until last week. I started wanting to change up my diet and lifestyle to better my health.Β I think the summer brings opportunity and optimism for change. I am also not training for anything right now, so I can be flexible about my workouts and eating.

The other morning, I listened to the Rich Roll podcast with Fully Raw Kristina. If you don’t know who she is, please check her out. Just looking at her website screams COLOR and LIFE and VIBRANCY! Rich interviewed her about her diet (fully raw) and why she choose this path. To say it resonated with me would be putting it very modestly.

5

She grew up on high fat and high meat Lebanese and Ecuadorian cooking. By 18 she was very underweight, sick and miserable. The food she was eating was not getting digested and she was diagnosed as prediabetic. A man at her local Whole Foods introduced her to a fully raw vegan fruit based diet. She tried it out (because nothing else had worked) and it changed her life. I will leave you there to listen to the podcast.

What did this mean for me? I was intrigued because of the said changes I want to make in my life. However, I don’t jump on a bandwagon without researching the band. I went to her website and others that researched a raw foods 80/10/10 lifestyle. I watched her YouTube videos. I saw her transformation from sick and unhealthy to beautiful and vibrant. All on raw foods.

6

It looked amazing! (It also helps that it is summer and every fruit looks even more delicious!)

The seed was planted. I wanted to try it out…at least part way. Here comes Raw Till 4.

The original Raw Till 4 is not what I am going for. I am modifying it for my lifestyle (for now) and seeing where it takes me. Raw Till 4 means eating raw fruit for breakfast and lunch and then a cooked dinner of rice, potatoes etc. I plan to follow the Raw Till 4 approach until dinner, where I will eat whatever I want. This means I’ll keep my sandwiches, vegan cheeses, cooked and fried veggies for dinner. I also plan to eat a snack later at night too. My tummy does not like to go to bed without something recently consumed.

Yesterday was my first day trying it out. It was fun! I ate bananas, mangoes and raw almond butter for breakfast. More bananas (mixed with Vega protein powder) and dragon fruit for lunch. And my normal and delicious hummus wrap with oven friend cheezy broccoli for dinner. I had a snack of yonanas, cinnamon pita chips and a vegan cupcake brought to me by my roomie ❀

1 2 3 4

I really loved eating more fruit. I suppose I could do that anyway and not call it Raw Till 4, but hey, I don’t hate the label. I’m also going to be lenient when people want to go out for lunch or breakfast. I like being a social vegan. That’s just fun life.

That’s all she wrote (and ate).

What is your favorite fruit?

7 comments

  1. I’m interested to see how this works for you. I love fruit, but sometimes get concerned with the high sugar content in the foods. Although it is all natural, I sometimes find the sugar and fiber to be difficult on my GI – which doesn’t sound like it’s a problem for you : ) Favorite fruit – frozen bananas, raspberries, and a recent re-infatuation with watermelon πŸ™‚

  2. The raw food diet intrigues me. I could never do it (I love bagels and pancakes too much!), but am fascinated by those who do. I’ll be interested to read how you like it! I’m particularly interest in the cost. It seems like it would be ridiculously expensive, but maybe I just don’t know enough about it.
    My favorite fruit is: Anything that is deliciously ripe in season. So, berries in the summer, apples in the fall. But, NEVER peaches. I hate peaches. They’re too furry πŸ˜‰
    PS: I can’t sleep until my tummy is happy, either πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

