What I Ate Wednesday [July 15, 2015]

Quite honestly, I really love to eat. My food journey is ever evolving based on new information, my preferences and what my body is telling me. Recently, I made the decision to try going Raw Till 4. For me, this means eating mostly fruits and vegetables for breakfast and lunch and then a cooked vegan dinner. After dinner I usually have a snack as well, which is comprised of both raw and “not raw” food. I have been trying this style for the past three days, and I feel pretty good. I did not have a euphoric OH My GOD moment, largely due to the fact that I didn’t feel bad.

Quite simply, I wanted to try it out. If it continues to make my body feel great, I will probably keep more raw food in my diet. However, this does not mean I will never have another cooked breakfast or lunch. It just means I’ve changed my preferences. It is easier to do this because it is summer. It is warm, so I crave cold foods. Fruit is in season so it’s a lot tastier than blueberries in the middle of winter. I also have an abundance of bananas, which are my favorite food. To say this lifestyle is hard would be a lie. I still even eat my beloved hummus, just at dinner instead of lunch.

I think I will squawk more about the label “Raw Till 4” and what it means to me tomorrow. For now, a day of eats! Thanks to Jenn for the link up!

WHAT-I-ATE-WEDNESDAY-NEW-BUTTON-PEAS-AND-CRAYONS

[BREAKFAST]

3

Apples and persimmons. Fruit is actively hydrating. I struggle to drink enough in the AM even after my sweat session. By eating fruit, I feel more alert and energized. A direct impact of raw food is increased hydration due to water content. Win!

[LUNCH]

4

Bananas, pistachios, carob chips, lacuma powder and Vega protein powder. Side of Brussels sprouts. I feel like I could eat bananas for every meal. I love this mix and love that it’s raw!

[DINNER]

21

A garlic bagel with hummus, sprouts and melted Daiya cheese. Served with bread and butter pickles, cauliflower and dip. One thing I dislike sometimes about going raw is that I love steamed and oven roasted veggies. I cannot eat coniferous veggies unless they are steamed because it aggravates my stomach. Luckily, light steaming is allowed. Win!

[SNACK]

Unpictured bowl of yonanas, pita chips and date rolls. Dates are seriously natures candy. I cannot get enough of them.

That was my day!

What is your favorite veggie? How do you like to prepare it?

6 comments

  1. Cauliflower! Steamed!

    Although I love it raw too, dipped in buffalo sauce. I sometimes shave it over a salad raw. It’s very versatile.

  2. What does a persimmon taste like – I’ve never had one! My favorite veggie is… hmm… cucumber! But if I have something to dip with – like hummus – I like broccoli and carrots.

  3. I did some unintentional raw til 4 days for a few weeks. It was ok, but I definitely need more balanced meals for my body. Dates are indeed natures candy…so yum.

Leave a Reply

