Cheezy Zoodles with Rice [For One]

Monday feels like a rebirth this week. The past five days, I’ve worked long closing shifts and I could feel it. It is the same amount of hours (except Friday when I pulled a 10 hour…don’t ask) but when it gets to 8 and 9 at night, my legs start to feel like logs. I woke up Saturday morning and my legs basically did not know how to work. I felt really energized in every other aspect though. It must be that Raw diet I am trying out.

Speaking of that, I quite honestly feel great. To recap, I’ve been eating raw fruits and veggies, nuts and seeds before 4pm. For me that means breakfast and lunch. Dinner and my nightly snack can be cooked and they partly are. I’d say I’m at an 80/20 raw to cooked food ratio. I really like the way I feel and my renewed interest in veganism and activism. It’s amazing how a small change can fuel the fire in multiple pursuits.

Well, today as we all know, is MEATLESS MONDAY! I am linking up with Tina over at Fuel Your Future. Check out her page for more amazing recipes!

untitled

This recipe is really easy to come together. You can omit the rice (I did not do that even though I have been going raw. I wanted rice. Haters gonna hate) or try other grains. I would not do spaghetti, but keep to smaller grains like quinoa or faro. The sauce is really simple and can be made as thick as you want depending on the water. Make this for your next brown bag lunch at work!

Cheezy Zucchini Noodles and Rice

2 c zucchini (or other spiralized veggie) noodles

1/4 c non-dairy cheddar cheese

1 t turmeric

2 T nutritional yeast

1 t salt

1-2 c rice

In a pot, steam the veggie noodles in a few tablespoons of water. Cover them to steam. After 3 minutes, add the turmeric, salt and nutritional yeast. Stir well. Then place the cheese on top of everything. Cover for 60-90 seconds to allow to melt. Stir everything together till you have a consistency of runny cheesy noodles. Mix in rice, allow to absorb (this is why it’s a great packed lunch!). Enjoy!

1

What is your favorite cheese?

9 comments

  1. Yay! Back to join us, which I of course love! This sounds yummy! Did you use arborio rice? Looks like it! Thats my favorite! Thanks for linking up lovely lady! Glad you are feeling good πŸ™‚

  2. I started playing around with nutritional yeast as a cheese substitute, but for most meals I use Diaya as a cheese substitute. I only like it heated, but otherwise I feel like it’s pretty spot on with taste !

  3. This sounds yummy! I’ve still never tried zoodles because I love regular pasta so much but they do sound like a good alternative even if they’re not an identical-tasting substitute.

Leave a Reply

