Crisis turned opportunity

A small freak out occurred today which reminded me of all the opportunity present in my life. I went to the grocery store to buy some fruit while my car was being inspected. When I got to the front of the line, my debit card was declined.

panic

Ensue panic…but I instead paid in cash.

Upon getting home, I had a solid plan as to how I would now structure my life to spend no more money. I will only take food from work. I would volunteer at my local co-op. I would eat really plain. I would not drive (no gas money), I would negotiate something with my roommate for utilities until I could put some checks in the bank. I was totally ready.

Luckily, I checked my balance and I had more than enough. Problem solved. I can spend what I want.

Nope. I don’t think I should do that.

During my time of crisis (20 minutes) I re-evaluated how I was spending. Did I need snacks? Did I need extra stuff? The answer, quite honestly is no. Sure, I like things like Oreos, crackers, chips, cheese etc, but are they worth the money? Right now, I say no.

2 4

Going RawTill4 has made me realize that I have access to a lot of fruit and veggies on a daily basis. I get almost unlimited bananas from work. I now have a membership and volunteer opportunity at my co-op to get a large percentage off. I am looking into buying in bulk.

1

Really, after all that, I don’t really need much more. I was eating yonanas last night and I usually dip pita chips in it. Then I thought, I don’t really need to dip chips in this. If I’m hungry afterwards, I can just grab a scoop of peanut butter or something. Also, pretzels are a lot cheaper than pita chips and if I want a crunch factor, I can have them.

keys42

This money freak out was a great way to remember the importance of saving money. It reminded me that if I am frugal now, I will have more chance to experience other things that will make me happy. I want to take certification programs. I want to learn more about veganism and animal rights. I want to be a better activist. All these things are possible, if I live better.

Have you ever had a crisis that absolved itself?

What did you learn?

2 comments

  1. I’m starting to come round to the same way of thinking, I’m always running out of money by being unorganised, buying food when I’m out when I have plenty at home. Better planning and a bit of doing without is what’s needed. Thank you for reminding me!

Leave a Reply

