Sunflower Butter Chickpea Blondies

Sometimes things that look terrible taste great. Keep an open mind when you see the final pictures of this recipe. I have a feeling this will not happen when you make these delicious brownies…but don’t hold me to that 🙂

Mondays should be meatless. Actually, all days should be meatless…but we like alliteration so I’ll go with it. Today I’m linking up with Tina for Meatless Mondays. Check out her site for more amazing recipes and great running advice.

untitled

Ok so these brownies…they are my standard chickpea brownies. I love making desserts with leftover beans. They taste so moist and chewy and in my opinion are much better than regular cookies. I find that instead of flour, eggs and butter, using the combo of beans and nut butter, I get the same constancy and taste. Add some sugar, maple syrup or dates and bingo, you’ve got a standard cookie dough. Mix in some chips or nuts and you’re golden.

That was my idea for this recipe. I wanted to use up my sunflower butter (I tried it but only got through half the jar before I realized that I cannot replace peanut butter) and the rest of the chickpeas from work. I ended up using the last of my maple syrup too so it was a triple win.

1

Well, everything was going swimmingly. I decided to use imitation vanilla because these brownies were for me and so I didn’t need to get fancy. That is where I think the problems began.

After putting all the ingredients into the food processor, I put the vanilla in last on top of the baking powder. It began to fizz. I didn’t really think much of if, blended the ingredients and poured everything into the pan. It looked normal. Problem solved.

Then I pulled them out…and they had turned slightly green.

2

That night when I had a piece…they were BRIGHT green! It was incredible. For one whole second I thought about not eating them…but quickly pushed that thought away. There was nothing bad in them. I ate them, they were DELICIOUS!

Long story short, a chemical reaction between the vanilla and baking powder. Noted. I will use the real stuff next time.

These brownies were so great! The texture was dense, moist and chewy. The chocolate chips pushed it over the top. Make these for your next summer get together, you will be the hit of the party!

Sunflower Butter Chickpea Blondies

4 c chickpeas drained

1 c sunflower butter

2/3 c maple syrup

1 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

1 T REAL vanilla extract

2/3 c chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 9×5 baking pan. In a food processor, combine all ingredients except for chocolate chips. Blend until a smooth consistency is achieved and all chickpeas are incorporated. Spread in the prepared pan. Pour chocolate chips over top. Bake for 25-30 minutes (do not over bake for chewy goodness).

Allow to cool or eat immediately. I stored mine the fridge.

3

How about that color?

4

Have you ever had a crazy recipe mishap?

4 comments

  1. oooooh yum! I have never tried sunflower butter, but have picked it up before…..then put it back down haha….one of these times I will make it to the checkout 😛 Thanks for linking up, and especially a dessert, good choice lady! Thanks so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

