#AllSentientBeingsMatter

Ok, I’ve got to get this off my chest.

A few days ago, a dentist in Africa killed a lion.

tarzan2

He is now on the run and in hiding having been accused of poaching. When I first heard this story, I was deeply saddened. I remembered all the old Disney movies, specifically Tarzan, where animals were continually on the run from hunters.

Tarzan-pictures-7

As children, we befriended these animals because we realized they were a lot like us. They had emotions, likes, dislikes, fell in love, had friendships, had favorite foods and got in trouble. Just like us. We HATED the poachers, often portrayed as large masochist goons who had a single goal: kill our friends.

When did we stop identifying with the animals and started becoming the poachers?

I would watch these movies while I ate a pepperoni pizza or chicken sandwich. I would cry deep into my bowl of ice cream. I never made the connection that I was contributing to the problem. I was that mean angry poacher. I was killing my friends.

The backlash this hunter has received for killing that lion is rightly deserved, but is it unreasonable to exclaim outrage among those who continue to eat animal products everyday? Why do we get up in arms for that lovely lion, but fail to acknowledge the torture and death we willingly contribute to every time we put something in our mouths?

tarzan3

I read a post that calls this Convenient Compassion. In his words,

“If you are going to stand up for a cause, be inclusive. What I mean is this, all animal lives matter. Whether it’s Cecil, the pig, the chicken or a cow. They all live and breathe. They are all sentient beings that breathe life in and out through lungs similar to our own. Stop pretending like your diet enables you to look past the suffering of so many animals.”

In other areas of my activism, I have supported the hashtag #BlackLivesMatter. They do, but I would like to change it to #AllLivesMatter. I do not mean to extend this just to other ethnicities, but to other beings as well. Maybe a more appropriate title would me #AllSentientBeingsMatter

Because they do.

What are you thinking right now?

Did I convince you to put down the Ben and Jerrys?

8 comments

  1. Thank you for the pingback. I think all of this is human conditioning. We are conditioned to react to things that the masses react too. Veganism isn’t as big as we want it to be, it’s still a fringe movement. Because of that, it’s easy to attack it, and us, as militant wackos. I do understand that they are militant wackos within the movement, and I’ve been vocal about my disdain for them, there are also plenty of us that are not as over the top and just want to see people open their eyes and minds.

    ps. Ben and Jerrys is working on vegan ice cream!! YESS!!!

  2. This is actually something I’ve always wondered about too… I understand that a mighty lion comes across as a lot more majestic than a humble chicken or pig, but life is life and each has the capacity to suffer the same. I gave up eating meat towards the end of last year, and it’s been one of the best decisions I’ve made πŸ™‚

    • That’s so great Amanda! I love how I can always get a great recipe from you and even use vegan Greek yogurt in your recipes. πŸ™‚

  3. I cannot like this enough, I don’t talk about this kind of stuff much because it’s usually in one ear and out the other with people, but my GOD it’s annoying when someone gets bent out of shape about shit and turns around and does something just as horrific. I see no difference in this story and the stories of all the other “acceptable” to kill animals. You know what I mean by that, and I know we both believe NO animals are acceptable to kill. Be consistent, and if this bothers you then put the damn steak down. End rant and end run on sentences.

  4. I’m still amazed at how “upset” people are about the lion (and the outrage whenever dogs are left in cars) but how little they care about animals that are factory farmed. 3,000 animals are killed every second – where’s the outrage about that?! Ugh – so frustrating!

Leave a Reply

