Things I Still Need To Accept About Going Vegan

I love the decision I made to go vegan. It is honestly the best thing I could have ever done personally, ethically, environmentally and socially. I do not regret ever making this life changing choice.

Vegangraphic

When I made the decision to go vegan, I knew that there would be hard times ahead, not with food, but concerning other people. I knew I would get the comments, the questions and the advice from others either because they were genuinely concerned or because people like to give their opinions regardless of content.

I have successfully turned many of my friends into protein masters. Vegan FTW!

protien

I also believed that eventually these hardships would stop. People would stop offering me some sort of meat or cheese. People would stop telling me they are hungry because #proteinbrah. People would finally “get it” even if they didn’t make the decision for themselves.

Well, here I am over 1.5 years later, in the same job, with the same people, and those things have not gone away.

My coworkers still offer me things and then say, “oh yea, you’re vegan so you can’t.” What kills me is that one of my best friends and coworkers, who is super smart and trying to get healthy basically shouts every time there is a free pastry or something “YOU CAN’T HAVE THIS!” Then the next day she tells me about some juice cleanse she and her girlfriend are going on. She is also so cultured and understands environmental impact so I just don’t get why she does this.

I asked her that question one time and she said “Ellie, there are some things I care about and are on the forefront of my mind more than others.”

I get that, but considering going vegan is the best thing you can do for the environment, health and morality, that three punch combo kind of trumps any other impact.

diet1

I thought I would become a more understanding vegan. I am more controlled in how I respond to people’s questions and my take on activism, but I still do not get why people, when they know the information, choose to make bad choices.

I just cannot accept that. If a doctor said “You have a broken arm. To fix it, we will set it and put it in a cast.” No one in their right mind would be like, “eh…I think I’ll wait it out and see if it fixes itself.” Ya just don’t do that am I right?

What do you still need to accept?

How do you respond to comments made about your habits or lifestyle?

10 comments

  1. Hi Ellie! I really liked this post I feel ya! I am in the same situation. I’ve been a vegetarian for 18 years (wow that makes me feel old!) and flirtin’ with vegan for the past year, til I finally took the dive to be all vegan, all the time recently.

    Obviously, over the past 18 years I’ve encountered a multitude of judgmental people that feel it necessary to ask me to explain my dietary choices. The way I cope with this is by giving a disclaimer up front: this is what I do, but I am really into everyone making their own choices when it comes to their diet/lifestyle. I don’t like people telling me what I should do/how or what I should eat/or any number of idiotic retorts (humans were made to eat meat/don’t you miss bacon/how do you get your protein…etc). I’ve learned and realized that even though you may be armed with the science, the facts and the numbers, and present this rationally and calmly to others, if they are not receptive or open-minded, they won’t be open to hearing your opinion. Period. It’s a frustrating dilemma. But in order to cope with this issue, as time goes on, you simply start to be less bothered by what others think/do/behave in response to your veganism – which is your personal lifestyle choice. The best you can do is stay strong, stick by your guns, and do what you think is best. One of the reasons for creating my blog almost a year ago was to show my friends that you can be fit, active, strong and not eat any meat. You can crush half-marathons, dominate the top of your class at boot camp, or scramble up a rock climbing wall like a boss – all sans animal products in your diet. And there is so much delicious vegan food out there, it is not nearly as difficult or soul-crushing an experience as non-plant-based folks seem to make it out to be. But the bottom line is: you will never change people’s minds if they aren’t open to changing. You can only try to encourage them to try vegan food, and incorporate it into their diet, because any tiny change will add up to make an impact. Accepting that fact has brought me more peace.

    I hope that my response was helpful, and you know that there are many others out there that feel like you do. I know how frustrated you feel – like you’re constantly banging your head against the wall when you encounter these people/have these experiences. Hopefully you find a balance and a happy place to share your views and educate those surrounding you without being discouraged if they don’t listen, or don’t respond in a positive way. Good luck, veggie soul sister! Sending all the happy vibes your way.

    With warmth and all the good vibes,
    L

    • WOW THIS IS THE BEST RESPONSE EVER! ❀ I think for me it's important to remember that people will say you are wrong no matter what. They have the power to choose what to believe. We, as vegans can also choose to act in the ways we feel most in line with our values and control how we respond to those who ask about our lifestyle. Thanks for commenting!

  2. great post! I get that a lot too with people and the dreaded ” where do you get your protein” question.. which has gotten so old at this point I might as well Laminate the answer and hand it out.. haha… but I think I still struggle most with people categorizing me into whatever they think Vegan is and then calling me preachy before I even open my mouth.. its funny because I feel like I am only defending myself and then I all of a sudden become preachy! I know that most people get defensive because they do feel guilty about their selfish choices… and well they try to come up with excuses about why they are not vegan! I guess I was once Like that too.. so I can’t be too upset about it πŸ™‚

  3. While I’m not entirely vegan [largely eating vegan, though] I understand your frustration. Once you know about the industry it’s sad to see how some people clearly give NO thought at all to where their food comes from. But I’ve stopped trying to talk about it as others will get defensive or consider you a militant vegan/vegetarian.
    I’m lucky in that I don’t hear comments on my diet too often. Actually, I was never asked the protein one to date. Only, yes, people won’t understand me not ordering a dish containing eggs or cheese at restaurants “because it’s totally vegetarian”. Not necessarily, friends.

    • Thanks for your comment. I think my biggest asset is being understanding. I actually feel bad for non-vegans and rather than getting mad, I feel pity.

  4. Ugh. I don’t think we should have to necessarily accept anything lol. Would people *accept* violence in other forms? No! Do they *accept* major environmental pollution when oil spills? No they do not…everyone gets upset about it. But talk about animals agriculture and omg people won’t survive unless they have their cheese. Just ugh! I’m at the point where, after having talked about all the reasons to be vegan, for the last two years, that there are certain people (family!) who I don’t even want to be around any more because they are so effing selfish. I took a couple weeks to go from omnivore to vegan after realizing that veganism was a thing. I grew up eating meat just like everyone else…so in my mind, if I can be vegan, and changed quickly enough too after hearing about it, then every one else can be as well, period! I’m so tired of excuses, I don’t know how I’m going to put up with it for the rest of my life…! Next challenge: find a vegan husband. Lol.

Leave a Reply

