My First 20 Miler

This morning, I was ready. I was ready to conquer what I thought to be impossible. I have had visions of the 20 mile marker before, but never believed I could accomplish it. This morning was different.

4

I ran 21.34 miles this morning and honestly loved it! I was prepared, ready to run smart and willing to stop if need be. I did not feel compelled to finish or complete some time goal. I was ready to try, so that’s what I did.

The preparation began the night before. I got a race hydration pack from the running store and my new Garmin Forerunner 225 had come in. I think that was the final sign as I had been waiting for my Garmin for about 2 weeks. It was in, work was not as crazy as it had been and so my legs felt recovered. Something was telling me to go for it.

2

I packed my bag with two water bottles, one with water and one with Tailwind Nutrition. I loaded my pack with a Clifshot, a Huma Gel and a Clif real food energy squeeze (pizza margarita flavor!). I charged my Garmin and learned how to use it. I felt ready.

The day began at 6AM. Luckily I was able to “go” before I started running, but had places I could stop if I needed to. I strapped on my pack, put on my hat and started listening to the Rich Roll podcast. It had begun.

5

I decided to bridge together two of my running routes so the 20 miles would seem familiar. The first 13 has a couple big climbs and descents and rolling hills. I went up Gunhill and the Slope and through Cornell campus. It was really quiet and beautiful at that time. Usually students aren’t up by then and since it’s move-in weekend, my runs will include moving around more people. I focused on going slow, drinkingΒ and breathing, but also let myself listen to the soothing voice of Rich and his wife Julie. What a great podcast for easy running!

I made it out of Cornell and moved out to Ellis Hollow. There are more rolling hills and no sidewalks. It was still early so I didn’t pass too many cars. The sky was gorgeous! The clouds were opening and there was a fog over the trees that cover Turkey Hill. It reminded me of a Civil War movie or The Patriot. Very beautiful and serene. I turned up Genung Rd by Ellis Hollow Community Center to get back to Cornell. A steep downhill on Seneca (by my apartment and CTB) and I was onto the second leg of my journey and the last 8 miles around Stewart and Cass park.

By then, there were more cars and people and my legs were getting heavy. With Rich still in my ears, I took my first Gel (vanilla like frosting!). I didn’t feel hungry, but remembered from training with gels over the winter that they made my legs feel better. At this point, I relaxed my shoulders and tried to maintain my pace. I purposely did this section second because it is flat, breezy and beautiful. I could not argue with the weather this morning. It was cooler than it has been so I was sweating, but not melting.

I made it through Stewart and crossed Meadow street to Cass park. I finished the rest of my gel and felt really…content. I was tired, but I saw possibilities opening up. I had not looked at my watch for the run because I want to see how I felt I was going versus what I actually was at the end and go from there. I knew I was getting to twenty. I asked myself if I could do more.

Yes. I think I could.

3

I made my way around the Children’s Garden and turned to go back home. I made it. I survived. I was still upright. My hip was not hurting. I was not famished. I felt…like I had run, but might have more to give.

I finished in 3 hours and 3 minutes A pace of 8:27 per mile.

1

What I learned:

1.)Β I thought I was going a lot slower, so I will have to work on that. I want long runs to be at a slower pace

2.) I only ate one gel and drank half a bottle of water and tailwind. Should I have drank more? I’m going to ask Lisa when I see her later.

3.) I can do a marathon. It is possible.

4.) Some days, even if they aren’t planned, can be long days or hard efforts if you’re feeling it.

I think most times we think about “unplanned rest days” which are great. However, I don’t often see “unplanned fast days” or “unplanned long mileage days” even if you wake up feeling like this could be the day for it.

What is my next move?

I want to get my car fixed πŸ˜› and then see what is around in the next few months. I have a relay at the end of September so I want to be ready for that.

I currently run for Red Newt Racing and Mountain Peak Fitness.

I am a FLRTC Ambassador.

Tell me about your first long run!

11 comments

  1. Getting those runs in that you haven’t done before can be amazing. Whether it is distance, speed work, or hills. I love accomplishing something new too.

  2. Nice run!!! I’ve seen vests like the one you have and I find them interesting… I hate fuel belts, and only begrudgingly carry my camelbak or handhelds. Do you like it?

    • The only issue I have now is I got two rubs where I didn’t have clothing on and the pack touched. I also have a slight bruise from where the water bottles hit my ribs. All fixable and newbie mistakes.

Leave a Reply

