Tuesday Tempo Run

Having a great run is really subjective. There are the runs where you feel amazing, the runs you do withΒ cool people and the runs that accomplish a goal. All of these types of runs are great.

My run this morning was the latter. It was hard, sweaty and done on a treadmill so it was boring. It accomplished my goal of a speed workout so therefore, it was still great. My legs hadn’t done this workout for two weeks so they were ready for some pushing. It’s funny to think I used to do this run twice a week during the winter when all of my running is on the mill. I don’t know how I kept that up because I love running outside. I think taking all of July off made me really appreciate the great outdoors.

1

I don’t have any races till Ragnar at the end of September, but want to maintain my speed and fitness because being able to jump into any race or group run is important to me.

Well, enough rambling, let’s get into today’s workout!

Warm-up: 1.5 miles @ 10:00 pace

Mile 1: 7:30 pace

Mile 2: 6:40 pace

Mile 3: 7:30 pace

Mile 4: 6:40 pace

Mile 5: 7:30 pace

Mile 6: 6:40 pace

Cool down: 1.5 miles @ 10:00 pace

What I like about this workout is that it is predictable. Doing treadmill work can be boring, but you always stay on pace. I used the treadmill almost solely in my build up to the Skunk Cabbage half marathon and it worked really well for me.

2

My average pace for my last half marathon was 6:30. When doing this workout, I never think I could maintain 6:40 for more than a mile, yet when the race starts, I somehow do it. Taking July off and doing less speed workouts has actually heightened my ability to trust my body. You know you always read that you won’t lose speed if you do one tempo run every two weeks. However, I always told myself I would.

I have chosen longer runs in favor of speed recently and really only do speed once every couple weeks. Obviously I have not lost my pace.

What do you do for tempo runs?

Track or treadmill?

3 comments

  1. I am so impressed with you and your running abilities. Do you run every day?
    ps. I met your twin last night! We just had new neighbors move in up the street from us and the mom of the family looks so much like you it’s scary! Someday I’ll take a picture of her and send it to you (without being creepy about it though πŸ˜‰ ).

  2. I tempo on the roads in summer… but I use the mill in winter and I like that it’s totally predictable. I’ve definitely run some decent times in Spring that I couldn’t have done without it!

Leave a Reply

