WIAW August 26, 2015 [Giving Myself Permission]

Today, I am going car shopping. This afternoon could prove to hold my next big adult purchase. I am nervous and excited…but mostly I want a car!

Yesterday, I ate some good food. Let’s document that below shall we?

BREAKFAST

5

two bananas mashed with Vega protein powder and peanut butter, broccoli and green beans on the side

LUNCH

4

Rice and beans, kiwi and peaches on the side

SNACK

3

Chocolate covered Oreo

DINNER

1

Avocado wrap with onions, tomatoes, sprouts and spinach, pickles on the side

DESSERT

2

Almond Joy bar

Looking back, this was a delicious day! I don’t know if the Raw Till 4 life is going to be my label and that’s ok. I think I just wanted to eat more fruit, and give myself permission to do so.

That concept sounds so funny. Why do we have to give ourselves permission to eat things? I am very active and although I have had past problems with eating, I feel freer than ever before in regard to food. Yes, vegan does take the animals out, but there is a vegan substitute for any “animal product” I could want. That is very liberating and was very helpful when transitioning.

Fruit on the other hand, WTF? It’s fruit. It’s delicious. I don’t know why I felt like I wanted to go extreme overload fruit and only eat that. I like cooked things. I think I just wanted to give myself permission to eat more of it. Through this raw till 4 experience, I was able to do that.

I have read many stories of people who tried a certain diet to get comfortable eating a certain food again. Kaila Prins from In My Skinny Genes now recognizes her attempt to go Paleo as a way to give herself permission to eat fat. Through that, she was able to embrace her recovery from an ED even more. I do not think everyone needs to go on a certain diet to learn to appreciate certain foods, but whatever helps clear food dogma and cloudy thinking cannot be harmful right?

My Raw Till 4 experience was great. Am I still only eating bananas and mangos? No. Do I feel free to experience them more now that I did that little escapade? You betcha! I think I’m better for it.

What was the best thing you ate today?

11 comments

  1. I know the feeling. For some reason I’ve always hated eating fruit, but I got a big bin delivered because I know I need to eat it, and I had a discount for an organic produce service. I was thinking of doing a raw week. Then it changed to just eating a lot of fruit. Now I haven’t even eaten half the bin in a week, but I am eating more fruit and smoothies. Mission accomplished πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for sharing this — I’m sure you’re not the only person who’s gone through this kind of thinking and I know for a fact it’s helping someone out there. Your honesty is always so refreshing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

