Weekly Workout Recap [8/24-8/30]

Since getting on Strava, getting my first Garmin and tracking my runs, I have been able to differentiate different paces with effort. I don’t believe seeing these things makes me do much differently, but it is interesting to note that a 7:30 paced run can feel just as easy some weeks as a 9:00 paces jaunt.

This past week was a lot of fun both in and out of running. I got a new car, I worked a crazy amount and last night I realized that maybe I shouldn’t down four tablespoons of PB and then go to bed. I had some crazy dreams and woke up sweating!

The following is what last week held for me in the workout realm:

Monday: 1:30 elliptical easy

This was the most mentally draining workout of the week.

Tuesday: 9 miles [6×1 mile repeats alternating between 7:30 and 6:40 pace]

My legs were finally able to sustain 6:40 for a mile! This is a lot harder for me than it looks.

Wednesday: 10.7 miles at 7:57 pace

My favorite run with some beautiful women was around Freese Road and through Cornell. We were missing our more proficient pacer this week as she was running Hood2Coast out west.

Thursday: 10 miles at 7:37 pace

I felt like this was a tempo run for me. A lot of elevation but I felt strong.

Friday: 17.1 miles at 8:30 pace

I couldn’t get my gel open because my hands were not working. I finally looped back to my house to cut the packet open, but my legs were a bit gone by then. I cut the run shorter and was happier for it. You live and learn πŸ™‚

Saturday: 8.3 miles at 7:37 pace

I love this flat loop around the two Ithaca parks. It was really pretty and people are outside.

Sunday: 14.9 miles at 8:03 pace

I had to ask someone to use their bathroom again X-) I really need to find a friend who lives in Ellis Hollow for this very reason. I feel blessed to be surrounded by great people who let me use their toilet. My bowels thank all of Ithaca.

Total: 70.3 miles [Hey, I’m an Ironman!]

Well, that wraps up me week. Today I did some elliptical cross training and listened to some Endurance Planet. Now, I’m off to an interview.

What was your favorite workout?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

