WIAW [12×400]

Tuesday mornings are a mixed bag. I have had the opportunity this summer to keep the same distance or intensity of runs to the same days of the week. On Tuesdays, I try to do a speed workout, something one would do on a track, but I do on a treadmill.

This morning I thought about doing mile repeats again. I am, well, comfortable is the wrong word because they are still hard, but I am used to that uncomfort. Instead I decided to do 400 meter repeats at a faster pace. This is the pace I am working towards for my half marathon. It is really hard for me to do it right now, but I know these workout will help me get there eventually.

I did a 2 mile warm up and then 12 reps of 400 meter intervals at a 6:00 per mile pace. Each interval was 1:30 exactly (good old treadmill doesn’t let me down). In between each rep I did the same distance at a 10:00 per mile pace. I then cooled down for 2 miles. A total of 10 miles.

A whole lot of sweat was involved here.

I then ate breakfast, but only pictured half of it. I also had a big bowl of veggies with dip.

4

[two bananas, vega sport protein powder, chia/flax seeds and peanut butter]

I remembered this morning that one of my New Years goals was to wear earrings everyday. I had forgotten over the weekend (it was really hectic) so I started again today. I really like these earrings and wear them for races too. I feel FAST!

3

I had to return some books at the library that I didn’t read because I’ve been so busy. When I am not working I am researching my new obsession that is Christianity and veganism. It is SO FASCINATING because both sides have valid points. I’m still praying I learn what’s right for me. Only the Big Guy upstairs can tell me that.

I also went to the bank and stopped at our local farmers market on the way. I always forget it’s there, but it never ceases to amaze me when I walk through. Everything looks delicious! I didn’t buy anything though because my money now goes into my car. I also do not need more food at home X-)

2

I got to work and it was pretty busy. Today was Bagel Tuesday where we sell a dozen bagels for $6.50 instead of $9.95. It’s a really great deal and people love it. Us workers not so much. Someone messed up a vegan sandwich (fortunately for me) so I ate it for lunch after adding cheese and avocado to it.

1

[Seitan, spinach, tomato, balsamic vinaigrette, avocado and cheese on oatmeal wheat bread, paired with gazpacho]

The rest of the shift went by pretty slowly. I spent about an hour making iced espresso which is my least favorite job. It’s so boring to just stand there and pull shots. I would rather do another 400m repeat!

My friend Jeff (he also is on my running team) made a vegan deep dish pizza last night and instagramed it. I thought it looked amazing so I told him so. He offered to bring me a piece. Um…YES!

7

It was so great to have a cooked meal when I got home. I love my usually PB&J, but this was a nice change.

6

For dessert I had two bananas mashed with PB on top and animal crackers.

A perfect ending to a sweaty day πŸ™‚

Have you ever had deep dish pizza?

Do you do speed work?

7 comments

  1. Thank you for being honest. I will take this into consideration when posting in the future. I did not realize I may have upset you. This will not continue.

    • Hi Ellie~
      I have to admit I was super nervous to post my comment in case it was misconstrued or ended up being hurtful for you. I’m so happy that you responded so kindly, and, as I thought, you maybe just didn’t know the effect you were having on some of your readers. Thank you for being mature and responding seriously to my comment, instead of just deleting it or blocking me or being flippant (which I see happen in a lot of other blogs!) I pray you find courage and strength and love in your life to be the healthiest and happiest version of you πŸ™‚ take care

  2. Ooh good to know that Ithaca has a great farmer’s market (in case I end up in Ithaca for college… which is what I hope! πŸ˜‰ )
    All the food you ate sounds and looks delicious! Especially the vegan deep dish pizza! Drool (even though I’ve never actually had deep dish before! Does it taste like regular pizza?).

Leave a Reply

