Thursday Things [Last long run?]

Does anyone ever feel like you either have TONS of time or NO time at all? No? Well, I guess I’m not so good at that balance thing. Sometimes I plan to get things done at a leisurely pace and have time to relax, but then life happens and I pick up and extra shift, decide to go on a cooking rampage (that means make more than one thing at a time) or explore my city.

I unexpectedly had Monday off and it was a beautiful day. I decided to walk around my town that afternoon because honestly, I don’t really take the time to enjoy where I live. Ithaca is beautiful! I have been so busy with work these past few months and also consciously trying to reign in my spending, so unnecessary shopping trips were given to boot. I also do not drive places if I do not have to because that takes gas which also costs money. Whew, too much money talk here. All I meant to say was that taking the time to enjoy where I live is something I give up when I am low on time. I felt blessed to remember to enjoy it on Monday with the extra time.

This morning I did what is probably my last long run until I start building up to the marathon I plan to do in May. The weather was nice a perfectly cool. I remembered to bring nutrition (tailwind FTW!) and enjoyed most of it. The miles 14-17 were really rough mentally, but 18-21 were enjoyable running around the lakes. I really do believe my city is the most beautiful in NY.

Speaking of running, look what finally came in the mail! My metal from the Sauerkraut 20K I did back in August. I also should have gotten a can of kraut, but I’m not really that upset. I’m pleased they remembered me as it was a fun race to get second in.

3

This morning after I spent 1.5 hours eating breakfast (yes, I eat a lot and take my time when I have it) I decided to make muffins both for myself and for one of my friends who just got back from building houses in Detroit. We were supposedΒ to go to brunch this morning, but it would have been rushed and after the mileage, I think it was best I just sat around. He also had things to do, so he’s going to visit me at work today and eat some muffins. I missed him so it brings me joy that he is home safe.

2

[I love this plate!]

Another new thing: my hair. This is a classy picture I took this morning so I’m a bit droopy eyed…but I am really happy I decided to cut it. I love long hair, but it takes so long to dry especially in the winter. I end up with frozen hair and either a headache or cold ears all day. I also have to tie it up at work everyday, so it seems pointless to have long hair I do not like taking care of. This shorter style is layered and actually shorter in the back than the front. All I have to do is run this mousse in it after I shower and the poof is GONE. I can almost put it in a ponytail, but I forgot to this morning and was fine on my run. I like how it turned out.

1

That’s all I can think of Out Loud today!

Tell me:

Long or short hair?

What is your favorite thing about your city?

6 comments

  1. Your hair looks wonderful πŸ™‚ I’ve always had longer hair, but it can definitely be a pain in the butt to take care of. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve wanted to lob it all off when I get frustrated with it, but it’s kind of my security blanket too so I have a hard time letting it go.

    • I totally agree with you on that! Hair seems to be something you can hide behind…until your job forces you to wear it up all day so it doesn’t matter at all X-)

  2. Your hair is adorable! I’ve always had long hair, except for Freshman year in college. I chopped it off into an almost-pixie-cut. I didn’t like it, but it felt somehow courageous. I hate getting my hair cut, so I just let it grow.

    • Thanks! I am really happy with it. I think this is the right length. I did shorter once and it was fine, but I like this better. A pixie cut is something I want to try sometime, but my roommate has it so I’ll let her rock that for a while. No need to steal her thunder πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

